restoring Backup

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by datzis, Apr 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. datzis

    datzis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hey everybody

    I am a new user of Acronis True Image Enterprise!
    I am creating a images and now I wont to restore the image.
    I am using Windows Server 2003 as a root Server and have just access via Remote. what do I have to do for restoring a images and the Server reboots after that with the restored images? Can I restore a images wihle windows is running?

    Thanks
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    No, restoring an Image wipes out whatever is on the destination drive. But you can run the restore from within Windows as long as the destination drive is a completely different drive.
     
  3. datzis

    datzis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Hey

    But I wont to restore it on the same drive!
    How do I have to do it??
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    In that case you have to create the Bootable CD media from the True Image installed software. This CD has the basic Backup, Recovery, and Clone features on it. And then, of course, the Backup image has to be on a separate drive, not the drive you are restoring.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello datzis,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Remote Server Backup Software.

    Please notice that you can restore non-system drives from within Windows. In order to restore a system drive the system will need to reboot (you will be promted after setting up the restore procedure), or you can perform the restore entirely using Acronis Bootable Rescue Media. Note that you need to have the image stored elsewhere (not on the drive that is being restored, as it is wiped in the process).

    You can find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 9.1 Enterprise Server in the respective User's Guide.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.