Restoring backup image From DVD Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by andywongkch, Sep 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andywongkch

    andywongkch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Hi, I am using ATI version 10 and using it to create an image file of my C drive (system drive- windows and program files).

    I am running Windows Xp Sp2 and there is only one partition in my C drive (250 GB) and I back upped the image file to this separate internal hard drive (D drive) plus to a DVD (E drive).

    I have tested the backup image by using image file created from hard drive without any difficulty. However, I spent hours unsuccesfully in trying to back up from DVD drive (E drive) by first using the ATI bootup disk and it never gave me the option to select the backup archive file from E drive (DVD drive).


    I would appreciate if anyone of u can help me and show me the clear enough instructions to restore image file from DVD drive.

    Thanks
     
  2. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    HI,
    It's quite possible that your E drive is not recognized by the BIOS.

    I personnally use 2 extra drives,one for CD and one for DVd, and my CD drive is not recognized by the BIOS when I try to boot on it with my Acronis rescue disk.
     
  3. andywongkch

    andywongkch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Actually, my E drive is DVD drive (primary) and F drive is CD rom drive (secondary). AT least that is what the BIOS setup tells me.

    Thanks for your respond. I am hoping someone will help me on this. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2007
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    When booting from the Ti Rescue CD, have you tried using the "safe" mode version to see if your cdrom devices are displayed.

    Most(?) of the regular forum members prefer to avoid using the "direct backup to CD/DVD" option. They get better and more consistent results via backups to other hard drives. Some members do create supplementary (additional) backups to cd/dvd using the 2 step method but not as their sole backup.
     
  5. andywongkch

    andywongkch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Unfortunately I did try all the 3 options available right after using ATI bootup disk.

    I agree with u totally. It is preferably to backup from hard drive instead of DVD. However, I was thinking what if my 2 hard drive got damaged and need to backup from DVD? That is why I was trying to see if I could put the DVD away in a safe place if it works.

    ANyway thanks for the reply. I just assume that the program does not work as advertised.
     
  6. babac

    babac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Montr?al,Qc.Ca
    Hi,
    Why don't you use an external USB Hard Drive?
    It does not cost much these days and it works very smoothly with Acronis TI.
    This is the opinion of a daily user .Restore guaranteed,which is the ultimate goal of a backup, is it not?
     
  7. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    If you want a backup to cd/dvd for additional storage; Then create the backup and temporarily store it on the C drive. Then, using the 2 step method, copy/burn the .tib files to your removable media. Validate the backup.
     
  8. andywongkch

    andywongkch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    12

    My apologies for not stating my quetsion clear enough.

    I have 2 separate (physical) hard drives and one DVD-RW and 1 CD rom drive.

    I DO NOT have a problem to create a system image on hard drive C and saved the backup files image (.tib) to hard drive D. I also DO NOT have a problem to create the same backup system image files on hard drive C to DVD drive and saved it on DVD.

    I can also restore the backup image that I created on D drive to C drive successfully

    The question is on restoring by using DVD image file.

    My problem is I cannot use the DVD image file to restore C drive using the ATI boot disk. After booting by using ATI bootable disk, I tried all the options in there and the program never let me to select to backup source from DVD drive (source image file).

    If there is no option for me to select the source image file from DVD drive, how to do restore after booting?

    anyone still help me?

    Thanks
     
  9. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Why not login to your account and ask for help from Acronis support. Perhaps they can send you an updated Rescue CD.
     
  10. andywongkch

    andywongkch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    Oh well, thought that wouldnt take someone from acronis to help (very simple and straight forward question).

    Thanks for your suggestion anyway
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Well, if you want a "non-Acronis" answer, then I would suggest you try a USB DVD drive. You can purchase one as a complete unit or buy a cheap external case and use an old DVD drive you have laying around (that's what I did).
     
  12. taidi

    taidi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    As I understand it you have two optical drives in the machine, are both selectable from your BIOS boot menu ?

    Have you tried booting from the Acronis recovery CD in the DVD drive ? I boot from a DVD-RW drive and Acronis sees that drive and lists it in the possible sources for tib files.

    I believe in theory I should be able to replace the recovery CD in the drive with a DVD containing my image file and then restore from that - but I haven't tried it yet. The recovery CD isn't needed in the drive once Acronis has loaded into memory.
     
  13. handyman

    handyman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    I have successfully recovered my system using DVDs after booting with the Acronis boot CD. Your "straight forward question" leaves me a little confused. Are you saying the DVD drive itself doesn't appear in the drive list, or that the DVD in the drive cannot be read?

    One point to remember when restoring from DVDs is that you have to begin with the LAST DVD in the set (not the first). Once that disc is read, the program will prompt you for disc 1.

    Another thing to remember: Don't even think about restoring selected files and folders from a DVD image. You'll be swapping discs until hell freezes over. Copy the DVDs to a hard drive, then restore files/folders from there.
     
  14. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    When doing a restore, at the very beginning, find the screen titled
    Restore Data Wizard--Archive Selection Screen
    To see all drives, click the + sign beside MyComputer
    The tree should open and display all drives.
     
  15. andywongkch

    andywongkch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    12

    Thanks for the reply.

    My DVD image file is all clean and working good. As you have said, after booting from the ati boot cd disk, I cannot read the DVD drive. In other words, the 3 options listed after boot up doesnt give me the option to select my source image file from DVD drive.

    FYI, I only got 1 DVD image file and there is no swapping discs issue.

    I guess you folks got different options than me after cd boot up. I will burn another copy of the boot up disk and see if the result is any different.

    Thanks again
     
  16. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Does your DVD drive show up in the list of drives?
    cddrive_showup.jpg
     
  17. andywongkch

    andywongkch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    12

    Thanks for the reply.

    I just made another copy of the boot disk and it only gave me 3 options to go in. Safe , home and windows.

    I went to safe mode, and it didnt show me the DVD drive. It only showed me the hard drive devices.
     
  18. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Safe Mode won't show CD/DVD devices. You'll need to boot into the Full Mode (I assume what you mean by "home"?).
    cddrive_showup2.jpg

    When you create the CD, you should be able to check the boxes for both the Safe and Full modes of TI to be included.
    cddrive_showup3.jpg

    If you boot to the Full Mode version, does your DVD drive show up?
     
  19. andywongkch

    andywongkch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    12
    well thought this thread was gone.

    This is to inform you that all is working fine now. Thanks for following up. Now I can really recommend others on ATI 10, but not ATI 11 as yet. LOL

    Cheers folks
     
  20. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    andywongkchs,
    Can you share the solution so others can benefit?
     
  21. andywongkch

    andywongkch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    12

    Sure I would be more than happy to. Actually, the solution has been stated in this thread. I just made a new version of bootable disk, insert the bootable disk in my DVD drive, after the boot up, chose option 2 (full instead of safe), and then it shows you all your hard drive and DVD drive devices. And the rest is to just choose the archive file from the DVD and set to go.

    Hope it helps
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.