Restoring an image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by HKPhooey, Nov 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HKPhooey

    HKPhooey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Hi,

    I have completely backup'd my C: use TI Home under windows xp mode, how can I restore the image in DOS mode or at boot time?

    Thanks & regards,

    HK Phooey
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    By making the rescue CD whilst in Windows mode or making a BartPe CD.

    With your system set to boot from a CD then harddrive, the rescue CD will boot into Linux with it's own GUI and away you go.


    Colin
     
  3. HKPhooey

    HKPhooey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    Thanks for the reply.

    Can I store the .tib inside the rescue DVD? If I can fit all the image into 1 DVD, can I span it into another DVD?

    Thanks for your advice :thumb:
     
  4. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I haven't used a DVD for this, but on one DVD, you might be able to.

    If you select file sizes in the imaging wizard then you can span DVD's, but why would you want to span DVD's if everything would fit onto one?

    Colin
     
  5. HKPhooey

    HKPhooey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Posts:
    10
    My C: is 20G and I would like to create rescue disks like notebook ones so all my data + boot partition are stored on DVDs.

    What is the proper procedure for doing that?

    I just now tried to create a rescure bootable media (on DVD) but I got an error msg.

    Pls advice.

    Thanks
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello HKPhooey,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that you can place the standalone version of Acronis True Image to the removable media along with the image archive. This media will be bootable thus, you will not need a separate rescue disk. You can find the detailed instructions on how compete this procedure in chapter 5.3.8 "Media components" in the Acronis True Image 10.0 Home User's Guide.

    When backing up to the CD\DVD Acronis True Image Home will ask you to insert a new disc when the previous one is full.

    Please also take a look at this FAQ article to find more information on how to write your images to DVD.

    Please clarify the error message you have received. When exactly have you received them?

    Please try the workaround described in this previous post of mine and see if the issue persists.

    If the issue persists, please collect the log file from Acronis True Image 10.0 Home that contains the error message. In order to do so please do the following:

    - run the program;

    - select Show log on the toolbar or from the Tools menu;

    - select the log with error messages;

    - click "Save the log entry to file" (the diskette icon)

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.