Restoring an image of the Free Windows 10.... years later

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by chattycathy, May 22, 2016.

  1. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    I have family and friends asking my advice on whether they should install the free version of Windows 10. Both of them are using Windows 7 Home Edition now. I'm not going to tell them what to do but instead just give them the information they need to decide. I've told them they could download it and try it but if they didn't like it before a month is up, they can go back to Windows 7. But, I also told them before they did anything, to make a backup on to an external device so we would have something to fall back on if we needed it. I told them about Microsoft saying they will not support Windows 7 after Jan. 2020. I explained a lot more than this but to make a long story short, my question is, do you think that if they install 10 and not like it, can they make a backup of it before they go back to their 7 and restore it years later if they need it and it will still work for them without Microsoft giving them problems or would they still have to purchase one?
     
  2. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Licence is locked to the hardware ID, I doubt, they will have the same hardware, even 4 years from now. Too much work, it is not really worth it.
    Not to mention, that MS is forcing 10 on users, I am sure, that when the support for 7 ends, they will give a free upgrade to 10 like an update for 7.
     
  3. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    I tried to edit the title and place a comma between the 10 and the years later so it would read, "Restoring an image of Windows 10, years later" and that could be 1 year or more, but it wouldn't let me. I don't mean it to read 10 years later. I just meant to restore it after 2020 when they quit supporting Windows 7 and they're not giving free versions away. These 2 will certainly still be using the same computers then. They don't purchase new ones until they have too. As far as "too much work", I don't mind the work and I'm the one that will be doing it for them because they don't even know where to start. I also explained how they couldn't use it on another computer. But, if that's what they wanted to do, I just wondered if it would work?
     
  4. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Paris
    Why not just get a copy of Macrium Free, install Windows 10, image it and then roll back to Win 7. If the hardware is unchanged you can re-image it in 2030 (although everyone will be using Linux by then- or so I am told).
     
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,308
    Location:
    England
  6. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    That's exactly what I had in mind and told them we could do, so you think it would work? It sounds like it. I thought it would be worth trying. What would they have to lose by trying?
     
  7. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    Thank you! Now it reads like I meant it to.
     
  8. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Paris
    Cathy- Great Minds think Alike!!! It absolutely would work- just choose your storage vehicle for the image wisely.

    But just a thought- I assume they want to keep Win7 because of the interface. If that is the case why not install StartisBack after you throw on Win10 and see if they notice any difference. There is a free trial and if you want to buy it it's about half the cost of a StarBucks's coffee.
     
  9. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Triassic
    In April 2020 Windows 10 will be 5 years old. The existing PC and peripherals will be 4.5 years older than they are today.

    I wonder if the 'old PC internals' will be supported. I wonder if the existing USB will be supported. I wonder if the external HDD will be supported. I wonder if the 'current' build will be recognized? I wonder what other unknowns need to be known. Microsoft is changing.

    I wonder if all this is worth it. You will be saving about $20/yr (ASFAIK, Home edition is $119 new).
     
  10. chattycathy

    chattycathy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    226
    That's right, "great minds do think alike"!!!! I told them they would need an external hard drive for the backup. I've always used external hard drives for my backups of any kind and they haven't given me any trouble. I also told them that if they HAD to use Windows 10, I could install Classic Shell to make it look more like Windows 7. I haven't used StartisBack so I'm not familiar with it but it sounds like it might be similar to Classic Shell. I have installed Classic Shell on other computers so I'm familiar with it.
     
  11. cruelsister

    cruelsister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    Paris
    Personally I would prefer StartisBack- Classic Shell is something that will start with Windows and eats up resources, whereas SIB essentially will unlock the traditional Start menu, etc that Microsoft has suppressed but still exists within WIN10. So no overhead at all.
     
  12. xpclient

    xpclient Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    This is a myth that you believe. All Start menus whether it's Stardock's product, StartIsBack or Classic Shell inject a DLL into the Explorer process when they start up with Windows. StartIsBack uses a COM hack to inject the DLL. Classic Shell uses a 2 MB process. Stardock uses a service and a process. The advantage of using a tiny extra process is that you can exit the Start menu without killing or restarting Explorer.exe. StartIsBack also uses its own code, it does not "unlock the traditional menu" - that is absolutely incorrect. The original menu code was removed by Microsoft a long time ago and it can't be just brought back like that. Classic Shell and Stardock are at an advantage because they can start and exit their menus without killing Explorer.exe. StartIsBack has less features and customization than Classic Shell and behaves the same way as other menus (injects a DLL into Explorer.exe, so a tiny 2 MB process or not, the memory usage of Explorer.exe is what you should be watching for ANY Start menu product.). Hope this is all clear now.
     
  13. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    328
    Location:
    Canada
    I have 2 PCs currently with Win7 that will definitely be used well beyond 2020, but Win10 still looks like a buggy Beta. I've read that I should be able to - install Win10 & register it - roll back to Win7 for now - re-install Win10 a year or 2 from now and it should pull the license from when i originally installed (i.e. no image of Win10 is required).

    So 3 questions 1) Can anyone confirm that the above plan will work - I'm not confident with what I've read so far...

    2) When is Win10 likely to settle down - major bugs dealt with - no major feature/GUI changes.

    3) Office 2007 is supposedly compatible with Win10 - anyone get it to work? looks like lots of people are having issues with it...
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    rm22,

    It has been stable since it was released almost a year ago. I have it on multiple computers and it's the best OS I've used.
     
  15. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    753
    Windows 10 is solid as a rock on all my computers also.
    In fact, I can't recall a crash or blue screen on any of them.
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,055
    On Win 10, some folks have great experiences, others not so. I've been playing with Fast Ring builds, and short term they have been okay. I finally decided to go ahead and do the free upgrade. Ran it for 1 hour and experienced an average of 2 BSOD's per every 15 minutes. Since the license upgrade I saved the image and went back to Win 7
     
  17. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,055
    Hi Chattycathy

    In theory what you want to do should work, in theory. I used to be a heavy shadow protect user, and have switch my main imaging program to Macrium paid, due to it's speed.

    But I have a few Shadprotect image from when I first bought this machine. They date from late 2013. I first mounted one of the images, and everything was there, I could access files, so the images seemed fine. So I restored one of them. The restore process went fine, the restore process said everything about the restore was perfect.

    BUT. when I booted up past the password check, I got a "Windows is preparing your desktop" That went on for almost 5 minutes, and then I was greeted with a completely blank screen with just a small text note in the lower screen that said what the build no was and that it was a non valid copy of windows.

    Using task manager I got explorer going, but it was basically a bust. So the image was good but windows wasn't having what it was seeing.

    Ergo, you may not know what problems you will have until you get there.

    Pete
     
  18. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,055
    Another update for Chattycathy

    I had an AX64 image from one I was trouble shooting my system. This was from 2014. I restored it and amazingly to me it was fine, restore worked. But system was still a mess. Lots of software, license changes etc.

    So I still stick by what I said. Just not worth it.
     
  19. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Pete,

    This was a frequently reported issue with Ghost 15 and Win7. ShadowProtect is similar to Ghost 15. It was a drive letter issue and could be fixed by zeroing the disk signature and doing a BCD Edit. This would allow the OS to boot as C: drive.
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,055
    Strange it wasn't an issue when the image was made, and isn't a problem with current images.
     
  21. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,044

    Peter, any idea what caused the issues? What are Fast ring builds? Are they previews? I am in the process of moving across to Win 10, one pc at a time and sofar was only positively surprised how relatively easy the process is. I found I could customise the new version quickly to how I liked it and so far they have been stable without any issues. Mind you, so far I have not moved on my main pc which is closest to my heart.
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,055
    Fast Ring builds are the Insider Previews. The are released at two different rates, and they are clearly beta's. As to what caused the issue on the standard update. I have now idea, and wasn't that interested in persueing it. Win 7 is working great, and I will stay with it until this hardware forces an update
     
  23. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    That is very weird and would suspect some thing in the imaging software. In hundreds of restores and clones over the years, I've never had any thing like that with broken activation. I've used Aomei , Easus the the built in Windows imaging and the errors I've gotten have all been boot sector or BCD issues that are easily fixed. I tested Macrium at some point and remember everything working well but I'm not familiar at all with Shadowprotect.

    In response to the original poster's question, making an image of the Windows 7 system will always be the best thing to do because you can always restore it whether it is days or years later and you won't be limited to the 30 days the Microsoft upgrade process allows. It is also possible to partition the drive and have both Windows 7 and 10 on the boot menu. I've done that several times but at this point I almost always go to Windows 7. I haven't had any serious stability issues with Windows 10 but it doesn't have much to offer me either.
     
  24. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    328
    Location:
    Canada
    Even if Win10 is stable on my PCs it seems like it is still changing too much to use as a main OS - that is the main reason I want to delay using it. I don't want to be re-testing my system after every OS update. Anyone have any comments on what the rate of change will be like after the anniversary update?
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    MisterB,

    It was reported frequently in the Ghost 15 forum. Pete gives a very good description of what you see with Win7.
    With WinXP you see a blue screen after the login.
    With Win10 you see a black screen after the Win10 logo starts flickering.

    It's due to the OS adopting a non C: drive letter following breaking these cloning rules...

    http://www.goodells.net/multiboot/partsigs.shtml

    The rules apply to WinXP, Win7 and Win10. You can simulate the error by editing {MountedDevices}. Change C: to some other letter. Make sure you have a backup to recover.
     
Loading...