Restoring an Image after trial has run out...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by yontev, Jun 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yontev

    yontev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Posts:
    57
    I am considering purchasing Acronis True Image V.10 Home. Recently, I have encountered many virus/malware issues with my daughter's computer which has meant putting a lot of money into better software to avoid future problems. It occurs to me that since her system is clean, this would be a good time to create an image back-up. I downloaded the trial version..and I will create the image with that. I'm holding off buying the product for a while as I am just financially recovering from the other purchases.

    If by chance, something happens to her system, and I want to restore the image after the trial runs out and I have not purchased the product, can a restore still be done. For example, if the computer is in such bad shape that the system is completely broken (which means the inability to go online) and it requires a reformatting of the hard drive for a bare-metal restore...how is this to be accomplished if I have only a invalid trial version?

    Thanks,


    -N
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    I believe the trial version's Recovery CD will still restore the image.

    Can anyone confirm that?
     
  3. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    Once trial period runs out it wouldn't work for ME; I doubt if you'll be able to use it.On Mine the 'next' part on the wizard was 'grayed out ' after trial ran out.,
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    nb47,

    Was that trying to do the restore from Windows?

    I thought the trial version of the rescue cd would always do restores (even after the Windows trial time was up). The cd just won't allow you to create backups.

    Acronis Trial Download question
     
  5. dantz

    dantz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Posts:
    992
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Just so you know, you can purchase a downloadable copy of ATI Home version 10 from NewWgg.com for only $31.90.
     
  6. nb47

    nb47 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Posts:
    183
    Yep , it was from windows.When I purchased program it still wouldn't work (Trial version restore) & I had to delete it, re-install & then do a NEW backup.Even after buying it ,I couldn't use the trial version restore.
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello yontev and nb47,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please be aware that as it was mentioned the trial version of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home is time limited under Windows and its evaluation period is 15 days. However, as jmk94903 mentioned, Acronis True Image Bootable CD created with the trial version of the product is not time limited and can be used to restore the image archive any time you need.

    Please also be aware that Bootable CD created with the trial version Acronis True Image 10.0 Home has limitation, namely, only restore option is available.

    We would recommend that you find the detailed instructions on how to use Acronis True Image 10.0 Home (including the instructions on creating Bootable Media in chapter 10) in the Acronis True Image 10.0 Home User's Guide.

    Please also be aware that trial version of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home can not be activated with serial number. In order to use the full version of the program you will need to download the latest build (4942) and install it. During the installation you will be asked for the serial number. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  8. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    You can prevent those issues without spending a dime. There are perfectly good and free software programs to do that. If any of those programs you bought require paying for updates or an annual fee, send me a Private Message and I'll tell you about the ones I use.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.