Restoring a larger than original disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by leorob, Feb 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. leorob

    leorob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    When I restore a larger disk (e.g. 20 GIG) from a disk image file from a smaller disk (e.g. 10 GIG), I get a successful restore but the final result is a partition of 10 GIG (with all the info) PLUS a new partition of 10 GIG (empty).

    Is there any way to restore a larger disk from a smaller disk while maintaining the larger disk's full capacity?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    When you do the image restore, you need to just select the partition (not Disk 1). Then you can resize the partition to take up the entire new drive. After that select "Yes" to "Do you want to restore another partition?" and then select the MBR to restore. Proceed through the wizard and you should be set.
     
  3. raleigh

    raleigh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Yep, that above, or you could use a partition utility to expand the size of your 10GB to 20GB.
     
  4. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    And yet another way, if you've already done the Restore and need to get back the missing space ....

    Create a Secure Zone of any size within the missing space, once it is created, use the Manage Secure Zone and delete the SZ, choosing to allocate all the space to the rest of the partition.
     
  5. turbin

    turbin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    The suggestion of creating and then deleting a SZ to gain the space is a great timesaver over doing a full restore! I'll need to use that one next time. THANKS!
     
  6. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Glad to hear it worked for you ... now if you haven't already done so, be sure to create the bootable Rescue CD. You will need this if your hard drive crashes and you have to Restore your Backup Image to a brand new drive.
     
  7. leorob

    leorob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Doesn't the Acronis CD serve as the bootable CD? Why do you suggest creating one if we have the CD we purchased?

    It seems to boot just fine and give options for restore and backup.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.