RestoreIT error

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by C.S.J, May 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    hi,

    i wanted to try the trial of RestoreIT but i cant get it to install on vista, everytime ... error error error

    is it vista compatible?
    has anyone got this installed on vista?

    some answers please, i reallllllly wanted to try this out. :(
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,037
    hello Chris,
    on the farstone website these are the system regs
    System Requirements

    CPU: Intel Pentium 133 or higher
    RAM: 64MB or more
    Hard Drive: 150MB free space
    Operating System: Windows 2000 and XP 32-bit operating systems
    no mention of vista so i dont think its vista compatible yet.
    lodore
     
  3. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,037
    if you look at this link you will notice some of the software has "Windows Vista ready!" under it
    http://www.farstone.com/software/
    restore IT 7 currently doesnt have the text so i think you will have to wait for a vista compatible version.
    since most of there products are vista compatible you shouldnt have to wait long.
    lodore
     
  5. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    DriveClone™ 3 Pro is though.....

    upon reading the description,

    it mentions full image backup (acronis right?) and also a snapshot program (rollback right?)

    so am i right in thinking this does both? or can do both if you choose to?
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,037
    yes it does both.
    report back what you like and dont like about it
    lodore
     
  7. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Restore-It 8 was intended to provide Vista support.
    But it never made it to release, since DriveClone 3 offers the exact same functionality as Restore-It 8 would have offered.
    So, just evaluate Restore-It 8 DriveClone 3.
     
  8. KikiBibi

    KikiBibi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    CSJ,

    Are you trying DriveClone Pro next?
    I kept getting a bsod when ReadyBoost is on.
    Wonder if you get that?

    Edit: Checked my crash dump. Says sdbus.sys is the culprit but before DriveClone, no bsod at all.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  9. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    i try this software and it look interest, the problem that i have is, i can resize the program screen so i can change the settings cause i can read the bottom of the screen, i don't know why developers create this provide people to resize the screen
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,665
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Do you mean you can not resize the program screen?
     
  11. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    lol yeah Thais what i mean, my English is complicate :)
     
  12. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i didnt really like driveclone 3, however ... i liked its 'snapshot' part.

    i will wait for restoreIT to become vista ready, as that is just the snapshot partt.
     
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    We have retired the RestoreIT name and the new product name is Drive Clone which includes all of RIT’s functionality. In Q 3 we will release a product called DC Snapshot. It will include the following features:

    - file level backup

    - snapshot creation
     
  14. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    I intended to tell you that in my previous message.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.