RestoreIT error

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by C.S.J, May 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    hi,

    i wanted to try the trial of RestoreIT but i cant get it to install on vista, everytime ... error error error

    is it vista compatible?
    has anyone got this installed on vista?

    some answers please, i reallllllly wanted to try this out. :(
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hello Chris,
    on the farstone website these are the system regs
    System Requirements

    CPU: Intel Pentium 133 or higher
    RAM: 64MB or more
    Hard Drive: 150MB free space
    Operating System: Windows 2000 and XP 32-bit operating systems
    no mention of vista so i dont think its vista compatible yet.
    lodore
     
  3. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if you look at this link you will notice some of the software has "Windows Vista ready!" under it
    http://www.farstone.com/software/
    restore IT 7 currently doesnt have the text so i think you will have to wait for a vista compatible version.
    since most of there products are vista compatible you shouldnt have to wait long.
    lodore
     
  5. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    DriveClone™ 3 Pro is though.....

    upon reading the description,

    it mentions full image backup (acronis right?) and also a snapshot program (rollback right?)

    so am i right in thinking this does both? or can do both if you choose to?
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    yes it does both.
    report back what you like and dont like about it
    lodore
     
  7. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    Restore-It 8 was intended to provide Vista support.
    But it never made it to release, since DriveClone 3 offers the exact same functionality as Restore-It 8 would have offered.
    So, just evaluate Restore-It 8 DriveClone 3.
     
  8. KikiBibi

    KikiBibi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Posts:
    173
    CSJ,

    Are you trying DriveClone Pro next?
    I kept getting a bsod when ReadyBoost is on.
    Wonder if you get that?

    Edit: Checked my crash dump. Says sdbus.sys is the culprit but before DriveClone, no bsod at all.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  9. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    i try this software and it look interest, the problem that i have is, i can resize the program screen so i can change the settings cause i can read the bottom of the screen, i don't know why developers create this provide people to resize the screen
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Do you mean you can not resize the program screen?
     
  11. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    lol yeah Thais what i mean, my English is complicate :)
     
  12. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i didnt really like driveclone 3, however ... i liked its 'snapshot' part.

    i will wait for restoreIT to become vista ready, as that is just the snapshot partt.
     
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    We have retired the RestoreIT name and the new product name is Drive Clone which includes all of RIT’s functionality. In Q 3 we will release a product called DC Snapshot. It will include the following features:

    - file level backup

    - snapshot creation
     
  14. wilbertnl

    wilbertnl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Posts:
    1,850
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    I intended to tell you that in my previous message.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.