Restored Vista image has boot error

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by vincenzo, Jul 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vincenzo

    vincenzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    I created an image of a Vista installation onto an external hard drive. When I restored the image (I restored both the C: drive and the MBR) Vista needed to do "Startup Repairs" and reported that the boot configuration is corrupt. It did a Partition Table repair and then Vista was able to start. What can be done to avoid this?
    It was booting and running fine before the restore. Also, I ran the restore by booting with the Bootable Rescue Media.
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2007
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
  3. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    The thread that seekforever referenced is a good one, going into great detail. In a nutshell, you won't have the problem again. For you it should be a one-time occurrence.

    The underlying reason is that when Vista was installed originally it used the newer convention of starting its partition at sector 2048. When you created an image of the partition and restored it using TI, it was restored following the older convention of starting the partition at sector 63. This change of starting sector messed up the new Vista bootloader, which required a repair to reference the correct starting sector.

    If you restore the image another time you won't need to repair; it should just boot right up like you expected it to do the first time.

    This problem will only affect those who have used the Vista disk to create the partition that Vista is installed into. If the partition was created by older software, then Vista will happily conform to the older partition starting sector standard. Restoring a partition with ATI will force conformity, so to speak.
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello vincenzo

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that as Aleksandr explained in the thread seekforever pointed to, Vista Startup Repair may be needed sometimes after cloning/restoring. We are aware of this issue and Acronis Development Team is working on it.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  5. vincenzo

    vincenzo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    151
    Does anyone know if this issue has been resolved yet, or if there is any FAQ or knowledge base article on this issue?

    Thanks
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I would guess that it has been resolved, but Acronis has not yet released the new build that contains the fix.

    Are you still having the problem?

    Once Vista Repair is run on the restored partition, further backups/restores of the partition should not require a repair. Also, if you backup the entire disk and restore the entire disk, you shouldn't have to do a repair.

    Acronis never seems to give timelines on fixes or releases. Judging from how long it's been since the last release, TI 11 may come out before the next build of TI 10 is released. That's what happened with TI 9/10 anyway.
     
  7. Wiz33

    Wiz33 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    How can you call these issues resolved when they are still present in the latest release.

    TI 10 have many problems running in Vista, I have had system shutdown, system freeze and incomplete cloning while running on VIsta with the latest build. Even running it from a Recuse CD, you will still have boot problem after cloning or restore (even with a complete disk image). What's worst, sometimes you original HD will fail to boot after cloning, rendering your complete system un-usable.

    This is a serious problem that will affect Vista user that do not have a full Vista install disk. (a lot of PCs and Laptops now only comes with recovery disk) since they won't be able to perform a repair operation with the recovery disk.

    Even as a long time TI user (since ver 8 ). At this point I will not recommend TI to anyone running Vista without access to a full Vista install disk.

    Surprisingly. TI 8.937 rescue disk, will work perfectly for cloning a Vista disk with no need for repair.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2007
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I not calling it resolved, I'm guessing it's resolved (from a programming standpoint). Acronis Support has stated in previous posts that some of these problems (this one included) have been fixed. However, they have not released the next build that includes these fixes. (At which time we'll find out whether or not it actually is fixed.) The problem IS DEFINATELY NOT RESOLVED as far as the end user is concerned at the present time.

    Agreed. If you don't have access to a regular (or standard OEM) Vista DVD, then you won't be able to do a repair (at least not without using more difficult methods or third-party tools).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.