restored for certain files, but now can't remove system files??

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tre2006, Apr 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tre2006

    tre2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    ok, I wasn't sure as to what I should put fo the title.
    The thing is, I have a 2nd internal hard drive, I wanted to search for a few certain files, so I ran the wizard, chose the one where you can look through it for certain files or folders. Well, the place I chose to put the backup was on my 2nd drive, that doesn't have windows on it. Now that I have found what I want, I am trying to remove the rest, but it won't remove PROGRAM FILES and the system restore folder. so here is where the folder is
    d:/recovery/
    and it put the whole c:\ from the backup

    You see what I'm saying? Like there is like 2gig in the programs folder, and I can't remove it? Again, this isn't even on the same drive that the TRUE PROGRAM FILES folder is on.

    On the SYSTEM VOLUME INFORMATION folder I was going to try to remove the "READ ONLY" from it, but it won't let me...

    What should I do?
    I'm going to wait around for awhile, so I would appreciate any info, or suggestions. Thank you so much for takeing the time to help out.
     
  2. tre2006

    tre2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    update
    I got everything deleted EXCEPT that pesky SYSTEM VOLUME INFORMATION
    I know that folder is for SYSTEM RESTORE...
    So, I thought I would DISABLE System Restore for the Drive that its on, I did that, tried to remove... and NOPE.
    Still didn't work.,. at this point it's not that big of a deal, because the folder is EMPTY
    But still would like to remove it, so there is no confusion if I try to run system restore in the future. I also tried to removed "READ ONLY" from the folder, but as soon as I do, I check again, and it is right back on... along w/ HIDDEN..

    So, if someone knows what to do... I would appreciate it. I might try in safe mode??
    worth a try?
     
  3. milleron

    milleron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Your description is confusing. I think that you're saying that you "plugged" in your backup image as a virtual drive so you can look through it in Windows Explorer for the certain files you needed to recover. If you want to get rid of the virtual drive after you finish, just right-click the virtual drive in an Explorer pane and select "unplug."

    Is that what you're talking about? :doubt:

    Ron
     
  4. tre2006

    tre2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    I'm sorry it was confusing.
    I ran the recovery wizard, and chose the "files and folders" selection, because I just wanted to look for a few different files. It asked me where to put the recovery, I chose my 2nd hard drive, that doesn't have windows on it, just because it has more space.
    I chose D:\recovery
    so it put the backup there, which is C:\

    Which had PROGRAM FILES, Documents and settings, System volume information.. etc..
    just like a normal C drive
    I was ready to remove the backup, and I was having trouble w/ all of the folders and files that are system related.. like program files, docs and settings.. etc..
    But, now all I need to delete is the System Volume Information Folder, which is a System Restore folder as far as I know.
    so, it isn't a virtual drive, it is just a restore, but not a full restore where it formats the drive, or actually restore the c:\ to be the main drive.. it was the FILES AND FOLDERS restore..
    it was weired, cause I could actually RUN PROGRAMS from the program files folder as if it was the normal program files folder..

    thanx for the reply.. I hope I explained it a little bit better.. again sorry it was so confusing the first time.
     
  5. milleron

    milleron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    Are you saying that you deleted everything from D:\recovery except for the folder D:\recovery\system volume information and that Windows won't allow you to delete that?

    If that's the case, you might try disabling System Restore for the D drive (this would delete all stored Restore Points for D:, of course), THEN try again to delete that folder. If successful, and if you want System Restore enabled for the D: drive, then re-enable it.
     
  6. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    To delete the System Volume Information folder you need to set security to allow Administrator access, by default only SYSTEM has access.
    Give Administrator full control and then you should be able to delete the folder.
     
  7. tre2006

    tre2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Thanx for the replies guys. Tachyon42, how would I go about doing that?
    really appreciate the information..



    And MILLERON,

    Yes, the system volume information folder is the only one that won't delete. I tried disabling system restore on the D Drive, I was totally expecting that to do the trick, but it didn't. Thanx for the suggestion though.. I really appreciate you guys helping me out.
     
  8. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    For Windows 2000 the following should work:

    Logon as Administrator
    Right click on the System Volume Information folder
    Click on Properties
    Click on Security tab
    Click Add button
    Scroll down and click on Administrator
    Click Add
    Click OK
    For permissions, click Full Control box in Allow column
    Click OK

    You should now be able to delete the folder.

    I imagine the procedure will be similar for Windows XP.
     
  9. milleron

    milleron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    32
    I'm unfamiliar with this approach. I have XP Pro. There's a "Sharing" tab (no Security tab), but it contains no functionality, like you describe here, to "add" a user, not even Administrator. However, I am the Administrator. Perhaps a user with restricted rights and permissions might find this function enabled in XP.
     
  10. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
    Everytime I try to do anything with Windows XP I find the feature is turned off by default. I get tired of trying to figure out how to turn on all the useful stuff. Hence I stay with Windows 2000.

    Anyway, I do have a Windows XP install which I use from time to time.
    Having just checked I find that to display the Security tab in Windows XP Pro you need to:

    go to Control Panel / Appearance and Themes / Folder options / View
    for Advanced settings clear the 'Use simple file sharing' box

    then following the same procedure mentioned above for Windows 2000.
     
  11. tre2006

    tre2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    5

    Thanx allot for all of the info.. I really appreciate it. I will try this out in the morning. I will be sure to let you guys know how it goes.
    Thanx again
     
  12. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Hmm, I think you might need to use the actual file permissions thingo the XP equivalent of CHMOD.

    Basically follow the right click method mentioned for 2K, with the following differences.

    Click on the Security tab and note that the user group is probably System, click on the Advanced button and then click on the Owner tab. In the bottom box will be the entry Change Owner to, now you can click here on your log in name or Permissions tab add your user name.

    It might only work if you do this from Safe mode. You may find even with permissions, you may only be able to delete the file either from safe mode or from console mode.

    Colin
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.