Restore to USB

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Trevor1957, Sep 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Trevor1957

    Trevor1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I need to restore an image to a usb drive on my main computer so that I can then put the restored drive into another computer. When I try to restore it only gives me the option to restore to C: and (in my case) not G: Any help would be great. Thanks in advance.

    Trev
     
  2. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    What version and build of True Image?
    What operating system?
    To run a restored drive in another computer, you have to use the Universal Restore option which can only be used with the Workstation flavors of TI.

    One workaround to try is to change the display to a generic vga type BEFORE making the backup.

    But to your problem .... sounds like you're using the bootable Rescue CD to do the Restore. This CD uses Linux and it does not have the drivers to enable it to see your usb drive. One option is to run the restore from within Windows. Another option is to make a BartPE cd that has the TI plug-in incorporated in it.
     
  3. Trevor1957

    Trevor1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for replying to me.

    Acronis*True*Image*Workstation® with Acronis Universal Restore® version 9.1 (build*3,832)

    XP Pro

    It does not seem to matter wether I use the boot cd (go to Universal) or through the program in Windows.
    I select the image and then when the windows comes to ask me where to install - the only selection there is for the C:

    It would be really handy for me to do the restore (through my main computer) on a drive and then go and install the drive. I am not sure if this can be done or I am just dumb for not working it out. It would fix a multitude of problems for me if I could do this

    Trev
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Even in Windows, huh ... if the usb drive is connected to a front usb port try using a rear one. (I know, sounds strange, but this has worked for some). Remove any other unneeded usb devices for now, including hubs.

    What make of computer is it?
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Trevor1957,

    In Windows, does the USB drive show up in My Computer?
    Does it show up in TI as a source/destination if you do start a regular backup?
    Does it show up in TI as a source/destination for a regular restore?

    Is it only the UR restore process where it doesn't show up?
     
  6. Trevor1957

    Trevor1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    It is a home built computer.
    It has two fixed harddrives.
    Athlon 2800 with 768 of RAM

    I tried it on two other machines with other USB drives and that same thing happens. It will only give the choice to restore to the C: drive. Probably I am doing something wrong. My fixed harddrives C: and D: Plus the usb all show up in the backup part. But as I say in the restore part only C: shows.
     
  7. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Where is the Image stored? One thing that helps is to rename your hard drives to something unique other than the generic Local Disk.
     
  8. Trevor1957

    Trevor1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Images are stored on the D: drive that is named Storage.

    But I do not think this is to do with the USB alone. As when I do a restore no other drives (destination) show other than the C:.

    Just checked two other computers and they are the same. Only C: as a destination.
     
  9. Trevor1957

    Trevor1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I am giving this a little bump incase some has come up with anything I am doing wrong.

    Thanks

    Trev
     
  10. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    This is strange ... what brand of drives are the D and the external one?
    As a Test, can you move the Image over to the external then, with the bootable CD, use the Clone feature to clone C to D? In fact would the Clone feature, via the bootable CD, see the external?
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  12. Trevor1957

    Trevor1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    That screenshot looks like the "source" selection screen, not the "destination" selection screen.

    Select the C: partition and then continue on with the Wizard. See if the USB drive shows up when you're asked where you want to restore to.
     
  14. Trevor1957

    Trevor1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Thank you all so much.
    I feel such a fool putting you all to this trouble when I did not go to the next screen.
    Once again thanks all for your patients and your help.

    Trev
     
  15. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Trev,

    Don't worry about it. Besides, it only took us 13 posts to figure it out... :D
     
  16. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Yes, and Marat asked the key question that got to the answer.

    It's a good thing we know we are very smart.:D
     
  17. tjhb

    tjhb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    It's possible that this won't work, or won't work well, all the same.

    Some computers (I'm thinking of Thinkpads but I'm sure some others are just as guilty) will format a USB drive with 255 (nominal) heads per cylinder, but an internal drive with 240. It's possible to hit a cylinder alignment problem. Better if possible to restore to an internal drive.
     
  18. Trevor1957

    Trevor1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    tjhb

    I think you are so right.
    This was a laptop drive being restored on my desktop.
    After I have done the restore and I relocate it into the laptop, it gets to the Windows screen then gives me the dreaded BSOD. I believe you are on the ball because it says the harddrive is probably not configured right.
    Oh well, back to the drawing board.

    Trev

    P.S

    Unfortunatly I cannot put this drive in another laptop to do it, as it is a SATA drive and my laptop here is an ide. So I guess my only option is to bring in the other laptop which really defeats what I was trying to do.
     
  19. Trevor1957

    Trevor1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    So, Guys is there any way to fix this?
     
  20. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  21. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Trevor1957,

    Please clarify, where was the image taken from?
    Notice that if you want to move your system to a different hardware (for example, from a desktop to a laptop) using Acronis Universal Restore, the target drive (the one on which the image is being restorer) has to be installed into the target system. That is needed so Acronis Universal Restore was able to make changes to the restored system according to the hardware it will operate on. Please see chapter 3.7 "Acronis Universal Restore" of Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation User's Guide for details on Acronis Universal Restore.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.