Restore to new bootdrive, size is wrong

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Putercobbler, Jan 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Putercobbler

Putercobbler Registered Member

Newbie here, I searched, but could'nt figure it out. I backed up the family computers on a 500GB external using Acronis. Decided to replace the 20GB boot drive in one computer with a 250GB boot drive. I removed the old C drive, installed the new one, booted from the recovery CD and restored the C archive to the new drive. It worked great and the computer boots and works fine except in "my computer", drive C is still recognized as 20 MB instead of 250 MB. How do I fix this, what did I do wrong? Thanks.

2. Tabvla

Tabvla Registered Member

Hi Putercobbler, welcome to the Forum :D

Suggest you try the following:

• Logon as Administrator
    • Go to Start > Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Computer Management
    • In the window scroll down to "Disk Management" and click on it
    You should be able to see the entire disk and hopefully you will see a C: partition of 20GB and an "Unallocated" space which should be just a bit less than 230GB. You can then manage this unallocated space any way you want to.

If you don't see the disk then take a screenshot of what you do see and post it back to the Forum

3. technetron

technetron Registered Member

I have a similar problem. I was restoring an older (questionable) 80-gig drive to a new 100-gig drive. I want all of the disk in a single partition (outside the boot partition.) I ended up with True image creating a 75-gig partition.... leaving about 18 megs in the unallocated area.

1. According to the instruction manual, one of the steps of disk image restore was the opportunity to resize the partitions. That option was never presented to me. Although, at one point their was a graph displaying the drive, but the window did not match the one in the instruction manual.