Restore to a Different Hard drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by palm_programs, Aug 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. palm_programs

    palm_programs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,
    I have a created a backup image and verified it. NOw if I want to restore to a different Hard drive (which happens to be SATA and my original was IDE) will that work? Meaning I still would like to have my IDE in the system but essentially make my larger capacity faster SATA as the my primary boot drive? Will I get windows errors? I will erase the IDE drive after restore so that there are no two bootable HDD in system.

    Any suggestions? Basically, my goal is to move my IDE main drive to a larger capacity SATA and still have the old IDE as a storage drive.
     
  2. mark3

    mark3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    188
    Unfortunately I have not got a SATA disk so I cannot give you a definitive answer.

    The way I see it, the quickest way to find out is to restore the image, disconnect the original disk, and then boot with the SATA disk. You have nothing to lose as the original still has all the information.

    If your image is stored on DVD, you might find that you expereince a problem when you boot with the SATA, and the problem is due to the way the image was stored on the DVD and has nothing to do with the SATA disk.

    When you do restore the image, please give us feedback re your success or failure.
     
  3. Mac25

    Mac25 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Ms Gulfcoast
    yes! once you have created the clone restart and enter the bios and set the new drive to boot from and set boot from other device to NO, once in windows and all is ok you need to delete the old partition and reformat to avoid conflicts.
     
  4. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Sorry - I'm confused here. I am about to replace an old IDE drive with a new SATA drive. I thought to do this it was necessary to use Acronis Universal Restore ? . The help files say "Choose this option when restoring a system disk (partition) to a computer with other processor, motherboard or HDD controller than in the imaged system".
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Long View

    No need for the use of Universal Restore.

    I above reads to mean if someone is restoring to differrent System.


    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    Thanks - the bit that concerned me was "or HDD controller than in the imaged system" I thought that changing from IDE to SATA might be a problem.
    I'm picking up a SATA card in the morning and will give it a go.
     
  7. tachyon42

    tachyon42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Posts:
    455
  8. palm_programs

    palm_programs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Posts:
    6
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.