Restore TIB image in Virtual Server VM

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jaycee, Oct 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jaycee

    jaycee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    Hi all,

    I'm trying to get this working, it works with VMWare Server (or should at least ;) ) but not with Microsoft Virtual Server 2005 R2.

    I made my images of systems to a .TIB file, it is verified and OK.

    I boot up my Virtual Machine with the Acronis Rescue CD (made with Acronis Enterprise Server 9.1.3718 and Univeral Restore 3625)
    and when i restore with universal restore full mode i start the process and then the counter jsut goes up and up... 1 day 8 hours to restore 8GB data!!!!

    Please advice how to make it, do i have to go to VMWare Server, i tried BartPE CD with Mustangs plugin, but not much more success :'(


    Help!


    Jaycee
     
  2. jaycee

    jaycee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Posts:
    186
    back with more news :

    Adding a dynamic size disk (size growing dynamically with data) or fixed size disk doesnt change the problem.

    Using Rescue CD or BartPE doesnt change the problem.

    One way to have it to work : add an IDE virtual disk

    I have an estimation of 1 hour to restore my server"s disk (8GB data, a 4GB TIB file) on a virtual IDE disk.

    I want to have Virtual Server only for disaster recovery, so performance isnt quite an issue for me, but it is quite annoying to know there is a bug...

    I may suspect a problem with SCSI support of x86 guest OS on a Windows 2003 x64 Server... have to investigate, because it is weird to have the same problem with Acronis Rescue CD and with Bart, which are relying on different OS's.

    Thanx to those who read my topic ;) i'll say it is closed, problem is Virtual Server 2005 R2's SCSI support for guest, with an x64 OS for Host.

    Jaycee
     
  3. mecookiemonster

    mecookiemonster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    I have an issue with Acronis rebooting when it goes to restore a disk image in Microsoft Virtual server 2005 R2 It just reboots-how did you get it to work at all
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.