Restore Question

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by candle_66, Sep 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. candle_66

    candle_66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    My laptop went away to have heat sycn problem fixed. I used True Image to backup the entire drive. This drive was partitioned as C: for progs D: for data and H: for Linux.

    I then formatted drive and reinstalled the Toshiba recovery cd software overwriting my data. OK I know it is not fully hidden

    My question is:
    When laptop comes back, using the True Image Boot disk, will it restore my 3 partitions or do I have to recreate the partitions before I restore them using Acronis. I am hoping that the restore will restore all partition in one go.

    I presume it will also restore my email settings??

    Thanks
     
  2. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Greetings Candle 66,

    If you made a full disk Image of your drive, including the Master Boot Record (MBR) you should have no problems restoring all three partitions "in one go." On restore, you will be asked which partition you wish to restore, then, before you commit the operation, you'll have a chance to say yes, you'd like to also restore additional partitions. Once all three are designated, along with your MBR, and you commit the operation, TI should reboot and restore all 3, and your MBR. It may reboot more than once...to synchronize with the operating system.

    Since this "bare metal" restore writes the data exactly the way it was on the drive you Imaged, all your settings for email and internet connection will be intact once the restore is complete. This assumes, as in your case, that the system is still the same configuration. If your hardware changes, such as a new network card, then you'd need to use either Windows or the software for your new hardware to create the new settings for that device.

    Are you restoring from an external HD? Not to suggest problems ahead, but, I'm also assuming here that you have already confirmed that your TI boot mode recognizes the drive or media your Image is located on. That's an important step, should anyone be reading this who is new to these forums. Test each step of the process on your system, so when you need it, you can be sure it will work.

    And, until the bugs are worked out of Files and Folders restore, you are much safer using Drive/Partition Images.

    Regards
     
  3. candle_66

    candle_66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    Thank you for the reply

    Yes it is external drive I backed up to.

    I believe I did include MBR. I will check the backup when I get home.

    I am hoping that the boot disk will allow to restore all partitions

    I will find out in 3 weeks when my yr old Toshiba laptop returns !!

    I also have the data on my other pc.

    My main concern is the Linus partition which took me ages to get working with my wireless networkk card !!
     
  4. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    From what I've just read, folks have had success restoring systems with dual boot - Win XP and Linux - using TI. Since TI recognized and imaged your Linux Partition successfully, you should be able to restore it as easily as your Windows partitions.

    Here are a couple of threads you might find interesting, and there are likely more in this forum.

    Re: Cloning Linux partitions to be bootable

    Re: windows and linux backup

    Note the suggestion in post #2, in the Thread Re: windows and linux backup, to always use a file system, even on empty partitions. Little tips like that are invaluable when it comes to using TI.

    Since the MBR contains the essential information to allow your restored drive(s) to boot, be sure to include that in all future Images. It sounds like, even if the Linux boot loader isn't fully intact after a restore, you can fix it, following the recipe from Acronis Support in the threads above. Even Windows boot errors can be repaired, using several methods, one of which is to Fix the MBR using the Windows XP installation CD.

    Since you didn't mention whether you have tested using your external HD in Boot Mode, here's a suggestion. Since you already have the Toshiba restore CD, and can therefore easily restore your OS, if you can't restore from Boot Mode (Full has USB support), you could copy the Image from your USB HD to your internal HD, and restore from there, after reinstalling TI.

    Let us know how your restore turns out...
     
  5. candle_66

    candle_66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    Yes I had thought of that . i sent off laptop with preinstalled software so i will get it back with XP on it.

    if worst comes to worst I will copy image to laptop and restore from thre but i am very interested to see ifI can restore from external drive.

    I presume I will because I will always be able to restore XP from orig cd.

    i will let people know in a few weeks when I get laptop back.

    thanks for the links, I will take a look.

    regards
     
  6. candle_66

    candle_66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    Just to let everyone know, I was able to get a complete restore from my Image that was backed up.

    I had a few partitions on my laptop , C for Progs D for data and l for Suse10.

    Backwed it all up to external drive. Took laptop into shop for repair. They swapped out hard drive. I used the True Image Boot Disk and was able to do a complete restore of everything.

    Emails, Quicken, etc. No probs. I am very impressed.

    At least two people have now purchased Acronis due to my recommendation.

    i am a very happy camper.

    Regards
     
  7. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318

    That is the way to do it ! You backed up the complete disk. They replaced it with a new one. You restored the archive image of the whole disk. No problems.

    I follow almost exactly the same procedure for my regular backups. I just do restores to an exchangable hard drive. No worries.


    Xpilot
     
  8. Christopher_NC

    Christopher_NC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Hello Candle_66,

    Thanks for the excellent news from the front! It does the heart good to know that at least some of our patients are alive and well after their visit to the emergency room.

    Regards
     
  9. cector

    cector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    When i boot from CD and select Bootable Agent following Error disply:

    Acronis Bootable Agent is already running. Plz run Management Console for remotely restore/backup

    Bootable Agent is not running in my Network but Why is this message displaying?

    Plz resolve this issue..

    Regards,
    Jamal
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.