Restore Not working

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by stewartrose, Mar 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stewartrose

    stewartrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Hi Team we have a restore problem her are some facts.

    Acronis Version True Image Home Version 11 Build 8,101

    Computer
    Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP4SC-DS3R/DS3
    2 * 2 Gig Cossair
    Cpu Intel Duo - Quad Core Q6600
    Video Card Gefore 7600 DX
    Liteon DVD CD Drive
    Hard Drive Weston Digital 160gig Sata, Partitioned c=30g, d=30g, e=44g,f=48g

    Everything is New, XP Pro loaded and updates , All drivers are the latest
    No Software loaded except True Image.

    Now Backup FULL for Drive C save it to Drive E

    Reboot System

    Call up True Image, and instruct to restore Drive C

    Computer reboots after a minute of checking, blue screen appears with cursor, cursor will move so it is not frozen, after 4 minutes, a progress screen comes up with no data in it, sttays like that for 5 minutes, then computer reboots back to windows without restoring drive C.

    The First time computer reboots into True image and settles down to blue screen the is no activity on the HD light untill the computer reboots again..

    Well Team it is over to you

    All the best from Alan
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Create the TI Rescue CD and try to boot from that. Let us know what happens.
     
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    As John has indicated, you should be able to boot up using the True Image Rescue CD and then restore C only over top of the existing C.

    Be careful to know your C drive characteristics (used space/free space, etc) because the TI Rescue Cd may use different drive letters due to be Linux.
    Hopefully, you have or will assign unique names to your drives so they can be identified by their names--not their drive letters.

    How To Create a TrueImageHome Rescue CD
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=188253
     
  4. stewartrose

    stewartrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Good Morning Team,

    I had all ready done that and did not want to give you 2 headaches in one,
    After booting the CD and clicked on restore, the software says we cannot find any hard drives.

    All the best from Alan
     
  5. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Contact support via LiveChat via your registration page to get a new download which will see your drives; or create a different Rescue CD using VistaPE or BartPE--info via search.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    The two headaches are only one.

    When you restore the boot partition starting in Windows, they system reboots into the same Linux environment of the Rescue CD.

    The Rescue CD allowed you to see that the Linux drivers do not support your motherboard. Therefore, no hard drives are found.

    You need a Rescue CD with drivers for your system. As Grover said, you may get them from Acronis tech support as a new downloaded CD.

    If you have another system with a full backup, you might install the TI 2009 Trial version and make a Rescue CD. Try that on your system. This newer Rescue CD may have the Linux drivers to see all your hard drives. It will be able to restore a TI 11 backup.

    I suggest that the other computer should have a full backup because there have been reports of problems uninstalling TI 2009 on some systems.
     
  7. stewartrose

    stewartrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Hi John,

    Thank you for the information most welcome..

    All the best from Alan
     
  8. stewartrose

    stewartrose Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Good Afternoon Team,

    I rebuilt the xp system again installed True Image 11 , but this time I installed SnapAPISetup , Create Drive C Image , Then Created Boot Image on CD , Then Boot into CD and this time it comes up with :

    Loading please wait...
    Kernel panic - not syncing VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(1,0)


    All the best from Alan
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Alan,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    Please let me know the license number via PM, I will provide you with an ISO filer to create another Acronis Booting rescue media.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.