Restore Issue: Volume Exclusive Access is required...

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by jPaulB, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. jPaulB

    jPaulB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Everybody,

    I hope someone can help me through this issue.

    I am trying to restore to a WD HDD.

    The process is fine, up to about 66% completed, then displays a message that "Volume exclusive access is required to complete the operation."

    For me, this is a show stopper.

    • The backup data-files were created from the same HDD that I wish to restore to.
    • I did verify the archive successfully.
    • I'm confused because I have successfully used Paragon before... on this Lap Top anyway without that "Access" issue. I have never seen this issue before.

    Would someone be kind enough to help me wade through these weeds? I have copies of all my program data, but reinstalling those programs (finding access keys to run them) is going to be a heart breaker.

    How can I grant Volume Exclusive Access to Paragon?

    Many thanks,
    Paul
     
  2. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Russia
    absolutely you get exclusive access to all drives, when boot from a rescue disk
     
  3. jPaulB

    jPaulB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Fireworker,

    I would have thought so myself, but that's the error I get running the rescue disk...

    I can't imagine why, but I still need a "fix" for that.

    Thanks, though
    Paul
     
  4. fireworker

    fireworker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Russia
    I call on everyone speaking English, in this thread
    -------------------
    SIW2, seekforever, Robin A., wptski, etc? attend, your help is needed!
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2013
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,755
    Location:
    Texas
  6. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    What security suite have you installed?some will only allow restoring of files/partitions with PC in safe mode,the restore procedure seems to be considered as a malware activity by some
     
  7. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,279
    It seems that the problem occurs when working from a boot medium, not clear which one.
     
Loading...