restore help with newer pc

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by holden523, Sep 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. holden523

    holden523 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Hello all, I'm using bartpe w/ universal restore to move a win2000 server to a new set of hardware. Everything with the image works fine, as I've been able to restore it to 2 other, older pc's ( an emachine t3990 w/ an intel 865 board and a compaq sr1020nx with a ms-6577 mainboard) without any issues. However, with the pc I really want to restore to, it gets to the point where it says "starting windows" (before the splash screen), the bar on the bottom fills up, then it hangs. If I start in safe mode, it hangs at mups.sys. I thought this was a driver issue, but when I try to load the drivers in universal restore wizard, it gets about halfway through the restore before stopping at 52%. The last message in the log says "driver for PCI\VEN_11_AB&DEV6101&SUBSYS_610111AB&REV_B1' has been succesfully installed (0x0) Tag=0xDCB317F3CF89D81B. The PC is a intel 965gf board witha core 2 duo processor and a sata hard drive. Can anybody give me an idea as to what's going on? Thanks!
     
  2. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    That sounds like it might be a SATA controller issue since the image works fine on older hardware.

    Does this PC have a compatibility mode setting for the disk controller in the BIOS? If so, try setting it to "compatibility" or "IDE" mode and see if it will boot. If it does, then install the correct driver in Windows, change the setting in the BIOS back to AHCI mode, and reboot.
     
  3. holden523

    holden523 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    The BIOS was already set to IDE. I tried changing a few things around, but nothing seemed to work.should I perhaps use the F6 prompt in bartpe, even though it can see the sata drive without it?
     
  4. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    If BartPE can see your disk then I don't think the F6 driver installation will do anything. You must have some other hardware incompatibility.

    You could consider doing an in-place upgrade of Win 2k server:

    http://articles.techrepublic.com.com/5100-6268_11-5203066.html

    This article looks like it's written for Windows 2000 but it does mention that it's applicable to both Win 2k Pro and Win 2k server.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    It may be the graphics card driver. The 965G series have built-in graphics. Have you tried loading those drivers during the restore or turning off the built-in graphics in the BIOS and booting with a "standard" PCI/PCI-Express VGA type card?
     
  6. holden523

    holden523 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    I'll give those a try. Thanks!
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello holden523,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Corprorate Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure you use the latest build of both Acronis True Image and the respective version of Acronis Universal Restore. To get access to updates you should first register your software. Don't forget to recreate Acronis Bootable Rescue Media after updating.

    If the issue persists, could you please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly?

    Please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If you are not able to create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) then please do the following:

    - Boot your computer from Acronis Bootable Rescue Media and press F11 key when the selection screen advising you to select either "Full", "Safe" or "Boot into Windows" option appears.
    - After you get the "Linux kernel command line" prompt, remove the word "quiet", click on the OK button and choose "Full Version".

    When the screen stop scrolling please write down the output information you receive (last 5-10 lines), or use a digital camera to make shots of the output screen. You can use Shift+PgUp and Shift+PgDn keys to scroll the screen manually.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.