Restore freezes at confirm partition erase

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by easyese, Jul 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. easyese

    easyese Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I am trying to restore a backup of Acronis True Image Server onto another machine. The machine is a Dell Dimension E520. The problem is everything goes well using the Universal Restore since the hardware is different. I try to restore I select what hard drive to restore to. The next screen asks if you are sure you want to delete the partitions off the hard drive. I chose yes and click the next button. The screen just sits here at this screen. I have left it here for a hour or so before I gave up and restart the server. I tried a few times now and no luck.

    Some thoughts, the server currently has a Linux installed and I am restoring a Server 2003. Would this cause problems?

    Second the server has a SATA Raid driver, the driver was set in RAID mode and caused the same problem I changed it to auto detect RAID/IDE and still received the same problem.

    Thank you for all the help.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2007
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried wiping the drive, wiping the MBR, clearing all partitions, etc. before trying the restore?

    Perhaps if TI sees the entire drive as all unallocated and skips the "delete partitions" step, maybe it will restore.
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello easyese,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please note that this is a know issue. You could have a look at this previous thread for details Universal Restore: Reboots before restore begins!.

    Note that this issue was already fixed and thus we would recommend that you download and install latest build (3920) of Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Windows. To get access to updates you should first register your software.

    Please also download and install the latest build of Acronis Universal Restore and create a new Acronis True Image Bootable CD after update.

    Be aware that in case of using Acronis True Image 9.1 Enterprise Server you should also update all components including Acronis Agents, Acronis Management Console, Acronis Backup and Group Servers as it is obligatory for all components to be of the same build in order to interact correctly.

    If the issue persists after updating, please create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post on the computer in the question and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected file to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  4. leibhold

    leibhold Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same problem but with a standard windows 2003 partition on a raid drive - sat there with the delete partition for a long while.
    Only way around was a manual deletion of the partition. I did this by redoing the raid array wiping all data.
    I have the lastest version.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello leibhold,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    Please note that as I stated in the above post, if you experience similar issue when using Acronis True Image Bootable CD created using the latest build (3920) of Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Windows, follow the instruction provided in the as it is described in Acronis Help Post to collect Linux System Information and Windows System Information, in addition, please create Acronis Report file. Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.