Restore files only on reformatted drive?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by danny9, Aug 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    I would like to reformat my drive due to ckdsk problems.
    Like everyone else I hate the task of reloading all programs.
    I use TI9 with an external HD.
    Is there a way to just restore files and programs to the reformatted drive to save hrs. of time??
    Thanks, Dan :)
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    You need to restore an image of your disk to the re-formatted disk. This will restore your OS, apps and whatever files you included in the original image.
     
  3. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Can't restore a whole image.
    That defeats the purpose of trying to get rid of the ckdsk problem.
    I'll get it right back with a full restore.
    That's why I was wondering if I could just restore certain files and programs after the system was back up.
    Thanks anyways.:)
     
  4. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    You can restore files only, not programs because of all the registry entries. Reformat, renistall windows and your applications, then restore your data files from your backup image.
     
  5. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Doesn't the "chkdsk /r" function mark the bad clusters and relocate any data to good clusters?
     
  6. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    From reading the help files it sounded like this was an option.
    Previously I did just full image restores.
    Thanks for verifying this.
    Appreciate the help! :D
    Dan
     
  7. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    Yes it does. The problem is, whether or not there is any "good data" to move. Sometimes all the data in the bad sector can be recovered and moved, but most times only some of the data is recoverable. In this case, the file using that sector will be corrupted.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.