Response from ESET RE: V4

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by HealingStargate, Mar 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HealingStargate

    HealingStargate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    USA
    I am starting a new thread on ESET Smart Security issues.

    This may give many of us some resolution.

    This morning I received a email in response to my problems of NOT being able to access the internet after installing V4.

    The response:

    An ESET Customer Care Representative has updated this case with the following information:

    Hello,

    Thank you for contacting ESET Customer Care.

    We are currently working on a fix on some of the issue we are having. We do apologize for any unconvince.





     
  2. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    Thats it ??

    o_O
     
  3. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    Notice that they say some of the problems. Looks like we have a long way to go before we have a working version
     
  4. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    I did notice that... :cautious:
     
  5. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    They've released a few in-house private testing builds (I'm using one), but I'm not sure if they will go ahead and release one, nor do I know if your problem is "fixed" in one of them.
     
  6. HealingStargate

    HealingStargate Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    160
    Location:
    USA
    Well I look at this way, it WAS a response and seems to admit their are problems.


     
  7. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    I note they apologise for being unconvince :), oh how a bit of lapsus lingae can change the whole meaning of a sentence.

    Colin
     
  8. Jenee

    Jenee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    185
    I accept that there are drop outs on the internet but in most other areas, this program works very well. Since V4 has been released, I have changed a business over to it which previously had Nod32 and Outpost and they are very happy as their network is working so much faster now.
     
  9. GaryRW

    GaryRW Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    OH, USA
    I left ESSv3 for Comodo because of all the firewall problems causing BSOD's with Wanarp, ntoskrnl, etc on Win2Kpro; WinXPpro worked fine. I returned to try ESSv4 and found no BSOD's on Win2Kpro. Firewall is much better.

    However, there seems to be problems with IDS periodically stomping on user defined rules. Also, the generic "Packet blocked by active defense (IDS)" in the log is poor because more detail should be available since categories are shown in "IDS and advanced options" I have received many "Detected DNS cache poisoning attack" in past but few now. I use OpenDNS and have no router so it's a false positive.

    Turn on your two "Troubleshooting" log options (default:OFF) and see what's going on. I also turned off the two DNS predefined rules and created my own which I could log. I found that there is some infrequent ICMP traffic with OpenDNS which is blocked unless you place DNS Servers in Trusted Zone, which I don't want.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.