Resize to larger drive during restore?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by NukeDude66, Jun 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NukeDude66

    NukeDude66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Can TrueImage v9x restore to a larger Hard Drive than the one it imaged from? In other words, If I image a latop (40 GB drive) then restore to same laptop with a larger drive (80 GB) will the result be an 80 GB partition or will it format the drive to the original 40 GB?
     
  2. Skyhawk

    Skyhawk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    102
    Just in case it might help, I know that TI-8 can restore to a larger hard drive than the one it imaged from. The result when I imaged an 80 gig drive and restored to a 120 gig drive was 80 gigs restored and 37 gigs unallocated free space. I suspect that v9 works the same way.

    One can combine the free space with the restored partition later using partitioning software and end up with the entire drive used. Or just make a new partition of the 37 gig free space.

    Skyhawk
     
  3. NukeDude66

    NukeDude66 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Yea, I was afraid of that. What I need is a tool to upgrade customers HDD without going through all that hassle. Ghost works if you remove both drives and do a disk to disk image but I was hoping to find a solution that can automatically resize to a larger drive while doing the image over.

    The search goes on...and on...
     
  4. _Kento_

    _Kento_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Posts:
    96
    Hello,

    From the User's Guide of Acronis True Image 9.1 Enterprise Server.

    So 9.1 can do this.

    BTW, if you would like to upgrade the drive to the bigger one I would recommend that you use Clone instead of Backup. I think it is faster and easier. However, backup and then restore also works.

    Kento.
     
  5. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Or there is this way. I call it re-sizing for dummies because I use it myself! Open TI and then the secure zone manager. Create a secure zone in the unallocated space. Then using the same manager delete the secure zone and part of this process will allow the newly released space to be allocated to the main drive. Only takes a few minutes and works every time.

    Xpilot
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.