Resize C driver with raid 5 or 10

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by xialei, Sep 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xialei

    xialei Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I want to resize c driver on my server with Windows 2003 Standard by using Acronis Disk Director Suite 9, all disks are raid 5 or 10.

    I want to know is there any problem with the action.

    Is there anyone who did it before ? Thanks for your reply !
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I have not used DD 9 (only DD 10).

    When you boot to the DD 9 CD, does it see the RAID drive correctly? I wouldn't recommend doing the procedure by starting it in Windows as Windows will have to reboot. It's safer to do the procedure by booting to the CD version.

    Do you have a backup image of the drive in case the resize has a problem and you need to restore?
     
  3. xialei

    xialei Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I am afarid that I have no chance to boot to the DD 9 CD , because I plan to install the DD9 to remote server which is very far away from here , so I have to start windows 2003 to resize c drive( raid 5 drive). Maybe the server will
    never boot after reboot.

    So, I just want to know is there anyone who resized the raid 5 drive on windows 2003 standard successfully. (PS : no matter DD9 or DD10)




    Of course I will backup system state and data before resizing C drive. I
    just worry about that it will spend a lot of time to restore.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.