Resize C driver with raid 5 or 10

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by xialei, Sep 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xialei

    xialei Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I want to resize c driver on my server with Windows 2003 Standard by using Acronis Disk Director Suite 9, all disks are raid 5 or 10.

    I want to know is there any problem with the action.

    Is there anyone who did it before ? Thanks for your reply !
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,485
    Location:
    California
    I have not used DD 9 (only DD 10).

    When you boot to the DD 9 CD, does it see the RAID drive correctly? I wouldn't recommend doing the procedure by starting it in Windows as Windows will have to reboot. It's safer to do the procedure by booting to the CD version.

    Do you have a backup image of the drive in case the resize has a problem and you need to restore?
     
  3. xialei

    xialei Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    I am afarid that I have no chance to boot to the DD 9 CD , because I plan to install the DD9 to remote server which is very far away from here , so I have to start windows 2003 to resize c drive( raid 5 drive). Maybe the server will
    never boot after reboot.

    So, I just want to know is there anyone who resized the raid 5 drive on windows 2003 standard successfully. (PS : no matter DD9 or DD10)




    Of course I will backup system state and data before resizing C drive. I
    just worry about that it will spend a lot of time to restore.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2007
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.