Reset Reboot Flag

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by marckus, Feb 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. marckus

    marckus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Is there a way to reset the reboot required flag in Disk Director 10? If I'm messing with USB drive partitions, I don't want to have to reboot my entire machine every time I make a change to a USB partition. Thanks.

    = = ==> Marckus
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I've run into this too, but haven't found a way around it. Just a few minutes ago I was resizing one of my data drives to create a small rescue partition. DD said it would have to reboot even though it wasn't a system drive and didn't have any system files on it. I ended up just using Disk Management to do it (no reboot was required). Then I had no problem using DD to write to the boot sector, etc.

    The only thing I can suggest is to use the Full or Safe Mode versions of DD or a BartPE/VistaPE CD to make the changes (assuming it's not a flashdrive).
     
  3. thecreator

    thecreator Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Baltimore Co., Maryland USA
    Hi Marckus,

    The only reason to have to reboot the computer for USB Drive partitions, is because you have programs installed in the Drive Partitions, that the operating system is pointing to. If you are not using the USB Hard Drive for anything except for storage or backups, you should not need to reboot the computer.

    Now I am talking about Windows XP operating systems, not Windows ME nor Windows 98 SE systems.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I've had this happen with Flashdrives too. There were no system files on the drive and the partitions were empty. For some reason, DD just thinks it needs to reboot to do the changes or reboot afterwards to finish the changes. There is no need for either.

    This is one of the reasons I prefer manipulating Flashdrives when booted to the Safe Mode version of DD.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2008
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.