Rescue CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bbarry, Mar 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bbarry

    bbarry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I purchased a boxed version of ATI 10 containing the actual program installation disk. It is my understanding that I do not need to make a Rescue CD since this installation disk is bootable.

    Is that correct? Thank you...........
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    If the build of TI 10 on the boxed CD is older than the latest build (4,942), then you'll probably want to download the latest build, install it and create a new TI CD.
     
  3. y6y6y6

    y6y6y6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    Do we need to create a new recovery CD every time we update our version of TI?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    It depends on what the update changes. If the update fixes a problem for you, then updating is a good idea. If the build you're using has been working fine, you may want to just download the update (so you have it) and continue using your current build. New builds can introduce new bugs or current features may work differently so each person should decide based on their use of the program. If you do have problems, Support will expect you to be using the latest build of your version.

    If you update the Windows version of TI, it's best to create a new TI CD that goes with that build. You should also keep your old TI CD (or keep ISO files so you can burn another copy later, if needed). Write the build on the CD so you can tell them apart.
     
  5. bbarry

    bbarry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Arkansas
    OK, my version is 4,942. So I'm back to my original question - is my installation CD bootable, or do I need to make a rescue disk? Thanks.........
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    As far as I know, the retail (boxed) CD should be bootable. Why don't you try booting it and find out? You'll need to verify it loads properly and detects your drives correctly anyway.
     
  7. bbarry

    bbarry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Arkansas
    OK, I will be doing this as soon as my replacement HDD arrives (tomorrow?). I was just trying to make sure I understood the process before I began my restore.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Yes, MudCrab is absolutely correct: CD which comes with boxed version is bootable. It is not necessary to update as well, because 4942 is the latest build for Acronis True Image 10.0 Home.

    Please keep in mind that full information about recovery is available in 6 chapter of User's Guide, which can be downloaded here.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexander Nikolsky
     
  9. bbarry

    bbarry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    92
    Location:
    Arkansas
    I have been able to boot ATI from the installation disk. However, as discussed on another thread in this forum, I haven't yet successfully restored my image.

    My ATI image is stored on an external USB hard drive, and when I plug the drive into my computer's USB port, I can no longer boot up.......can't get into Setup or into ATI. The computer just hangs up at the first Intel screen (where it says to press F2 for setup). If I unpluf the USB drive, all is well and I can boot again.

    If I wait to plug in the USB drive while ATI is booting up, then ATI can't see the drive to restore my image.

    I don't consider this to be an ATI problem, but it is certainly preventing me from restoring.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.