Rescue CD

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by mprezgot, Nov 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mprezgot

    mprezgot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Kingston, ON CANADA
    I had no issues with TI11 - but decided to upgrade to TI 2009 (just to see how it works). At first - nice suprice - Linux partition restored with GRUB working OK (and this without sector by sector restore). Then tried to create Rescue CD. No problem burning it, but when tried to boot I got only here: "Starting Acronis Loader... Boot failed, press any key". Without reliable rescue CD program is useless! I've tried that TI 2009 Rescue CD on several different machines - same result!!!:mad:
     
  2. tonyseeking

    tonyseeking Former Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Posts:
    406

    TI11 restored my Linux with Grub.
     
  3. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    My first suggestion would be to reburn a new TI Rescue CD. If possible, slow the burn speed. If you have a usb flash drive, try creating a rescue device using that. The create flashdrive is on the same option as create rescue CD.
     
  4. mprezgot

    mprezgot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Kingston, ON CANADA
    I tried to burn it several times with different software. I saved it also as ISO file and burnt it with both Windows and Linux software - same effect - no boot from Rescue CD on any of my computers.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Acronis has custom ISO files for TI 10 and 11 that use a different boot loader. If they have one for TI 2009, it may let it boot on your computers. You would need submit a support request or contact them using the Live Chat feature.
     
  6. The Nodder

    The Nodder Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    UK
    MudCrab is correct.

    I had that same problem and Acronis gave me another to try and it worked.

    contact support and you will be all fixed up.
     
  7. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Could you clarify this? All of the earlier versions of TI could restore a disk correctly when GRUB was installed to the MBR. But they had difficulty restoring ext2/ext3 partitions where GRUB was installed to the partition boot record.

    Where was GRUB located on the disk that you restored using TI 2009? To the MBR? Or, to the partition?

    If the latter, that is very good news, and another longstanding bug that has finally been corrected in TI 2009.
     
  8. mprezgot

    mprezgot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Kingston, ON CANADA
    You are correct - TI-11 had problems restoring GRUB if it was installed on linux partition (not MBR). You had to use sector-by-sector restore option of ext3 to have it restored. One of the 1st things I tried with TI 2009 was to backup and then restore my linux partition using default options (not sector-by-sector image - 2009 has now this otion as oposed to TI-11 sector-by-sector restore). To my surprise Ubuntu booted OK!
     
  9. mprezgot

    mprezgot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Kingston, ON CANADA
    You guys were right - it took some 1/2 Hrs to get connected to Acronis Live Chat and get link to get ISO file for a Rescue CD with different boot loader (TrueImage9615_multiparam_Standard_english_il). That one booted OK. So I gave ATI Home 2009 another try (after uninstalling ATIHome-11). Created backup of my WinVista partition, installed few things, then restored WinVista. So far all is OK (including Outlook 2007 - some posts complained that it didn't work after rerstore). It appears to be working faster than ATIHome11 too!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.