Rescue Boot Disc is shutting down Windows

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tommy, Oct 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Vaio Notebook
    Acronis True Image 8.0 Build 764
    Windows XP SP2

    I installed Acronis True Image and created a 'Boot rescue CD'. Booting from it works good. But after selecting an action, the Wizard appears, choosing 'Next' the Acronis Loader disappears and Windows is rebooting.

    Same happens when i try to backup an image to the boot partition, during Windows is running. Acronis gives the option to reboot - Loader appears (No CD). After pressing the Botton 'Next' in the wizard machine is rebooting.No action taken.

    I am missing something?

    Thanks
    Tommy
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Tommy,

    First of all, please download the latest build, which is available on our web site at http://www.acronis.com/support/updates/. To get access to updates you should register your software first at http://www.acronis.com/registration/. Please remember to disable any download managers, internet download/connection boosters, etc. before the download.

    Then please install it, create a new bootable CD and try to use it.

    Also please try the following workaround:

    Please boot from the Acronis True Image rescue disc and press F11 key when the "Starting Acronis Loader..." message appears. After you get the "Linux Kernel Settings" prompt, please add the "acpi=off noapic" parameter to the end of the kernel command line (do not remove the word "quiet") and click on the OK button.

    If the problem persists please contact support@acronis.com.

    Thank you.

    --
    Best regards,
    Andrew Berezovsky
     
  3. peteramd

    peteramd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    I have a somewhat similar problem. My PC boots from the CD and goes as far as the Acronis welcome screen, then the screen goes black and everything is disabled (keyboard, mouse, etc.) I must reset the computer. This means I cannot use my bootable CD if I want to restore an image. Any suggestions?
    My current set-up:
    Clean install of Windows XP Home
    MB Asus P4P800-E Deluxe
    P4 3.0 GHz
    2 x 256Mb TwinMos
    Asus Radeon 9600XT
    2 x Maxtor 160Gb/8Mb cache SATA (not as Raid)
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
  5. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    My problem is solved. Works great with the last build.

    Thanks for your support
    Thomas
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.