Rescue Boot CD doesn't detect second hard drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by vershun, Mar 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vershun

    vershun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Neither Disk Director nor TrueImage on rescue media CD detects my second hard drive.

    Only the first hard drive and its partitions.

    How do I fix this? Doesn't make sense for this to be normal.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    Have you tried the Safe Mode (SafeMedia) versions?

    Are you using the latest builds for your versions of DD and TI?

    Is the second drive the same type (IDE, SATA, etc.)?

    Is the second drive connected to the same controller?
     
  3. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Do you have names for each hard drive/partition. Drive letters can change in the Linux environment of the Rescue CD. If the internal C: drive isn't recognized, and external drive will get the C: drive letter. However, the names do not change.

    What is the difference between the two hard drives? Are they both internal, both IDE or SATA?
     
  4. vershun

    vershun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    "quiet acpi=off noapic" Didn't fix it.

    Have you tried the Safe Mode (SafeMedia) versions?
    Drives show in Safe Mode, but then my mouse doesn't work so it's useless.

    Are you using the latest builds for your versions of DD and TI?
    No. DD yes, TI v10

    Is the second drive the same type (IDE, SATA, etc.)?
    Both SATA.

    Is the second drive connected to the same controller?
    Maybe? Controller?
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Do you have Legacy USB support enabled in the BIOS?

    Are you using a standard USB mouse or a wireless mouse?

    Some boards have two SATA chipsets on them. For example, four ports on one and two on another. The manual usually states this information or they may be marked on the board or shown separately in the BIOS.
     
  6. vershun

    vershun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Do you have Legacy USB support enabled in the BIOS?
    Yes
    Are you using a standard USB mouse or a wireless mouse?
    Standard USB
     
  7. vershun

    vershun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    Weird.
    Mouse works in Safe Mode now. o_O
     
  8. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.