Replacing Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by LenC, Oct 13, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LenC

LenC Registered Member

I have a 4+ year old Dell Dimension 4500 with a 40 gig hard drive. I would like to upgrade the drive - and then use 9.0 to clone drive and keep 40 gig as a fully functional spare.

Can I purchase any drive? I read discussions about SATA, PATA, IDE and don't understand difference.

Thank you,
    Len

2. Colvin

Colvin Registered Member

I'm not a Dell expert by any stretch of the imagination, although I have to repair them often enough. If your PC is 4+ years old, my guess would be that you will need an IDE drive as SATA or PATA drives won't be compatible with your motherboard.

3. LenC

LenC Registered Member

Colvin -

One follow up question...

Seems like they come in many flavors...ATA, ATA 100, ATA 33, ATA 133. Are these all IDE drives, which you suggest might work for my computer? What does the number represent? Is it speed?

Thank you,
    Len

4. pvsurfer

pvsurfer Registered Member

Len~

For sure your Dim 4500's motherboard does not have a SATA controller, but if you would like to get a SATA drive you could buy a SATA PCI Controller Card for your 4500. SATA drives provide somewhat faster throughput than ATA drives, although with your PC I don't think you would realize a significant benefit. Do not even think about any ATA drive slower than ATA100!!! Considering your motherboard's controller, both an ATA100 drive and ATA133 drive will operate at the ATA100 level as that's the limit of your motherboard's disk-controller.