Replacing 40 gb drive with 160 gb on HP Lap

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Greg81, Aug 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Greg81

    Greg81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    I can't get this to work. I backed up the old 40 gb drive onto a external hard drive. I then installed the new drive and restored everything to the new 160gb drive. However, the drive now has 2 partitions as it did before C: and D: (HP Recovery) and they are the same size as when they were on the old drive. I cannot figure out how to expand the C: partition to a larger size.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2009
  2. Aussie42

    Aussie42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    64
  3. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Greg81:

    When you start the restore wizard in TI, after selecting the backup file to restore from, you get to a screen that asks you what you want you want to restore. Do not select the entire disk or you will end up with the same size partitions (as you have already found out). Instead, select only one of the partitions. Eventually you will get to a screen that lets you choose a size for the restored partition.

    Continue and when asked if you want to restore any other partitions, choose YES and continue doing this until you have all of the partitions set up to the sizes that you want. Then proceed with the restore.
     
  4. Mark_Phelps

    Mark_Phelps Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Posts:
    38
    I did almost exactly the same thing on a laptop recently -- replacing the old 40GB with a new 160GB drive, and had imaged the drive using ATI Home 11.

    When I did the restore using the option to automatically resize the partitions, surprise, surprise, Vista would NOT boot. When I wiped the drive and did the same restore, but using the option to NOT resize the partitions, Vista did reboot without problems. I was then able to use Disk Director to resize and move the Data partition, and use Vista Disk Management to resize the OS partition ... and ended up with a machine that continues to boot just fine.

    I suspect that if you encounter a reboot problem using the auto resize, you can boot with a Vista DVD and run Startup Repair and you'll be OK. But those folks whose machine did not come with such a DVD could be in trouble.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.