Repair system disk start to sector 63 from 0

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Palancar, May 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,599
    I messed up on a rebuild. I am working on a new machine and converted to legacy bios from efi because I want to use whole disk encryption using TrueCrypt.

    The laptop bios supports legacy and that part was easy. I created a nice working system disk using a custom windows 7 install from DVD. I later used partition manager to remove all the unused space but I forgot and stole the free space (first 62 sectors and TrueCrypt's bootloader needs them).

    I then used partition wizard in bootable RAM to delete and create a new primary partition to place a system disk on. That part was easy. When I view the partition properties the first sector is 63 as it should be.

    I am using Macrium Pro and made some nice backups while I was updating the OS and loading software originally. Problem: my Macrium backup system disk copies start on sector 0 instead of 63 because that is where they were when I created them.

    So even when I create a perfect primary partition my backup image/copy is not correct and the partition start returns to 0 instead of 63.

    Is there any way to move the perfectly functioning installed system disk over from sector 0 starting to sector 63?

    The machine is really fast and works great. Until I went to encrypt with TrueCrypt I didn't even notice I somehow screwed up and set the start on 0. TrueCrypt pops up a flag message that it needs those first 62 sectors for the bootloader. I checked and all my other machines that are encrypted all start on 63.

    Any way to move this somehow without a total redo of the OS?
     
  2. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,599
    At this point the opening post in the thread is for a learning experience only. 60 views and no responses so it not likely something that would be easily doable, especially considering a fresh install will fix the problem.

    First, I created a new partition with the proper/normal disk partition parameters. Then I went ahead and re-installed the custom 7 OS after partitioning the drive to the normal 63 sector starting point. I wrote out a new Macrium Pro image to keep for future needs. Basically I lost a few hours by being careless. Won't be the last time it'll happen either. LOL!!

    fyi - Macrium Pro with usb 3 "in play" wrote out and verified my entire system disk in 15 minutes. Blazing!!
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Palancar,

    You don't like 2048 sector aligned partitions with Win7?
     
  4. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,599
    Running an older piece of software that doesn't support it. Considering upgrading to the newer version which will.

    Old dog same habits!!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.