Remove secure zone

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by rmccoy, Dec 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rmccoy

    rmccoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    I uninstalled True Image 8. It did remove the secure zone but did not put the space back on to my c: drive. I have a 160 Gig hard drive but it only shows I have a 88 gig hard drive. True Image 8 still has about half of my hard drive lock up. I reinstalled True Image to try the uninstall again but that did not work. What do I need to do to recover the rest of my hard drive space?
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello rmccoy

    Welcome to the TI Support Forum. Install TI and then delete the SZ via the "Manage Acronis Secure Zone Wizard" as per Section 3.2.4 of the TI User's Guide.

    Regards
     
  3. rmccoy

    rmccoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for the reply but I did reinstall two or three times, I even downloaded and installed the update, the problem is that the secure zone does not show up in the "Manage Acronis Secure Zone Wizard" any more. Secure zone does not show up any where. When I uninstalled TI it deleted any referance to the Secure Zone but it just did not give me back the hard drive space on C:drive. I need to recover my lost space.
     
  4. beenthereb4

    beenthereb4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    568
    If you try adding a new Secure Zone, it may allow you to choose the unallocated space. Then after creating the new zone, remove it through the TI interface and it should allow you to add the space back to a partition. Thus, in theory, you will recover your space.
     
  5. rmccoy

    rmccoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    I also tried that. It wants to create the new zone on the remaining part of the hard drive. It does not show me the space that I am still locked out of.
     
  6. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hmmm, this is a new one to me. I always assumed the SZ survived a TI uninstall/reinstall.

    What happens if you now create a new SZ and then delete it via the Manage SZ Wizard. Does it enable you to recover all your C: drive free space?

    Regards
     
  7. rmccoy

    rmccoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Posts:
    7
    I would like to thank you very much. Your last suggestion fixed me up. I made a small Secrue Zone of 4 Gig and then deleted it using the Zone Manager. When it was finished I checked my hard drive and I only had 84 Gig left in stead of the 88 Gig I started with. I rebooted the computer and rechecked the hard drive and I now have all of my hard drive back.
    Thanks again
     
  8. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Good news. Glad we were able to help.

    Regards
     
  9. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Hi Folks,

    I have the same problem.
    I´m using the last build (786), and if I start my computer with rescue media, I can resize it.I can´t manager the secure zone using Windows.So I log on in Windows and ask to remove secure zone.
    When my computer start booting it cant delete SZ.It says the configuration has changed.So I start using CD again and can delete the last SZ that I created, but the old one is still there.I tried to uninstall TI and reinstall it 4 times, but I cant delete SZ.I have a backup in another computer.If I format this one, and use the backup, the SZ will disappear ?

    Thanks for your help.

    Best Regards,

    DonKid.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.