Remote Administrator Server 4 99% CPU

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by jeramy_t, Jun 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jeramy_t

    jeramy_t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Posts:
    22
    Every time there has been an issue with the RAS there has been an update that fixed the issue. Just Upgraded from v3 to v4 because restarting the HTTP server all the time was getting old. Now i have ERA.EXE*32 taking up all my CPU resources. any one else getting this? any ideas on how to trouble shoot this?
     
  2. jeramy_t

    jeramy_t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Posts:
    22
    event logs also showing alot of these errors
    "Error: "CCServiceRoutine(HandleClient): Failed client handling, code: 3"
     
  3. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
  4. jeramy_t

    jeramy_t Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Posts:
    22
    i had to uninstall and delete the existing DB, then re-install to get this thing to work.
    FYI dont upgrade from v3 to V4, just do a clean install.
     
  5. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Using IIS has not resolved my issue. There's still issues when the console is connected to the server, the server will eventually freeze up and eat cycles. Killing the era.exe process seems to resolve my issue every time.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you have a huge number of clients connecting to ERAS, you can try the following hints that might mitigate the server load:
    1, lower the interval for clients connecting to ERAS
    2, lower the verbosity for logs accepted by ERAS
    3, disable replication of threat log details
    4, use other than MS Access database
     
  7. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    So far for me, the issue is revolved around the console being connected to the server.

    If I leave the console disconnected, everything runs without issue. If I leave the console connected for a random duration, the problem arise.

    It's very weird. :s
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.