Remastered LiveCD install questions PCLOS Linux

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by zapjb, Aug 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Ok. When I open:

    Konsole
    su, enter
    password, enter
    remasterme, enter

    I then burn the resulting .iso.

    I know if I boot to this LiveDVD, I have an exact copy of my system. If I logon as root & Install PCLOS. Will this result in the same exact copy? I think I did this already & it does result in an exact copy of my remasterme .iso. I even think I got the choice to overwrite or keep my Home directory.

    And is there a way to install the remasterme LiveDVD from the user acct. using Konsole? Does anybody know the exact commands? It's something draklive. But I don't recall exactly. And does it give the choice to overwrite or keep my Home directory?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,
    Could you please restate what you intend to do? I lost you.
    Mrk
     
  3. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Like if/when I f up my install by tweaking.

    I boot into my LiveDVD. Login as user. Check to be sure I like the configure from when I made the LiveDVD. And install the LiveDVD overwriting my f'd up install but keeping my Home directory.

    I know this can be done as root. But I'd like to be to do this in user. Open Konsole - su - pw - then.

    Then I don't know what command to write. It's something like draklive. But I don't recall exactly. And does it give the choice to overwrite or keep my Home directory?
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hello,

    Why do you want to be able to reinstall through user account?
    Why does it bother you to login as root and do as needed.

    I'll see regarding how to start draklive, at least what you refer to.

    Will it give you the option? Well, if you do not format the home partition and keep it as is, then you'll retain your home. If your home is part of the root and you format, you will lose the info.

    But you can back it up separately.

    Mrk
     
  5. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    The command is draklive-install

    So I check to be sure I like the configure from when I made the LiveDVD.
     
  6. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    remasterme will be an exact image of your system and will install accordingly.

    From user account, konsole> draklive-install or menu> System> draklive-install.
     
  7. Reposed

    Reposed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Might be easier, and possibly quicker, to just image the partition using Partimage.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.