Released Sandboxie Plus (Sbie fork) Versions with Signed Driver

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Dec 7, 2020.

  1. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    504
    Location:
    Austria
    Just to help you to specify your problem:

    I have sometimes the following situation (I think it happens for me primarily with pdf-files but may be with other files too):
    1. I open a pdf-file in the browser (with both the browser and the pdf-viewer in Sandboxie).
    2. I decide to download the file on my desktop (using quick recovery).
    3. I continue to use the browser and when closing it I see the file once more in the following window of Sandboxie:

    SBIE-Fenster-2.jpg

    I also wondered about this, but I got accustomed to it. ;) I simply click on "Delete Sandbox" (= "Sandbox leeren") in the window (as I have the file already on my desktop, as consequence of step 2).

    I assume this is the scenario you mean.
     
  2. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    504
    Location:
    Austria
    I see. Yes, in this case the issue must be quite annoying.

    Me too.

    I cannot remember for how long it happens to me. But I think it already occurred already in older versions. (Maybe even back when Sandboxie was still managed by Sophos?? - Not sure about this.)

    Anyway, I am glad that I could confirm your problem. Perhaps David will have an idea how to fix the issue.

    That's something I have no personal experience with.
     
  3. SandboxerX86

    SandboxerX86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    In a Sandbox
    I just found another weird behaviour that I'm not sure if it is intended or not.

    In the legacy SBIE when you delete a folder that is OUTSIDE the sandbox while using a sandboxed explorer like [Run > Run Program] or [Run > Run Explorer] the folder and all the content, including sub-folders, is removed but in SBIE-Plus only the files inside the folder and sub-folders are removed keeping the folder/sub-folders.

    It this how it works now? Can it be changed to work as it did before?
     
  4. Peter 123

    Peter 123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    504
    Location:
    Austria
    Thanks for your useful image. So it was easy to find out what to do. :thumb:

    But for me finally it was not possible to reproduce your results in two respects:
    - With the txt testfiles you offer for download the issue did not occur anyway (even when not follwoing the steps of Edit 5).
    - On the other hand, trying it with a pdf file, the issue continued to occur in any case - even when I followed the procedure of Edit 5.
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,411
    to clearify:
    That switch empties the doorhanger (download button). Downloads still exists where they have been downloaded, and firefox do NOT repeat downloads on its own (even not direct or from cache)

    About quick recovery
    https://github.com/DavidXanatos/sandboxie-docs/blob/main/Content/QuickRecovery.md
    describes "move", so the files where moved to your user download folder as desired.

    if they reappear when you open the doorhanger (clicking the button) or navigate to firefox downloads (library) firefox access that files and this initiate sandboxie to copy (!) it back into the sandbox. you can use ProcessMonitor (sysinternals) to track this behavior.

    check it out:
    - clear cache, history and download-history (ctrl+shift+del)
    - download file and let it recovered.
    - again clear <b>only</b> cache&nbsp; (ctrl+shift+del)
    - after this only open the download doorhanger as you showed us.

    this is enough to initiate sandboxie to copy files on access back into sandbox.

    process monitor show me this behavior:
    firefox access my downloads folder, then sandboxie recreate the file(s) in the box because of access. there exist no cache access from firefox between these actions, otherwise i had to assume firefox recreates it from cache which it is not. firefox behavior is correct, the rest is sandboxie.

    edit
    this is just the experience from tracking firefox and sandboxie and currently no one is able to change this behavior. And i dont think that David can change it.

    what might possible is to set up a direct access to your download folder but this could probably answer bo to you, i do not use this setting. what i have set up is a forced folder on my downloads, firefox is not running sandboxed.

    sorry, cant tell you more.
     
  6. SandboxerX86

    SandboxerX86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    In a Sandbox
    @100 @Peter 123 @Brummelchen
    I see you are talking about Classic and I have Plus but I tried to test it to see if I can help and found out that Brummelchen is right.

    When the files are recovered they are in fact moved to the location desired, not copied, but when you access the doorhanger or the Downloads window the files gets copied back to the sandbox because it seems firefox is accesing them (I guess it is because of the option to open the files directly from firefox).

    Have anyone tried to reproduce what I wrote in #1020 and #1028? just out of curiosity.
     
  7. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,386
    Location:
    Viena
    Well I could devise a workaround based on remembering what files were recovered and then if a write access is attempted change it to a read only access hoping it wont break anything.
    Its bad design if firefox here requests write access for whatever reason.
    But tracking this would need lists and work and etc.... so i'm really not sure if that would be worth the afford.
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,411
    core files are same, plus owns a different/advanced GUI for settings. about your folder vs explorer problem David need to investigate, why Plus acts different (from what i read and understood)
     
  9. SandboxerX86

    SandboxerX86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    In a Sandbox
    Thank you for you reply Brummelchen.
    Yep, was aware of that but I specified the version just in case.

    Yes, exactly, in #1028 the problem is the sandboxed explorer in Plus acting different than Legacy's one when deleting folders that are outside of the sandbox (Plus delete only the files inside the folders while Legacy delete the entire folder).
    In #1020 there are two (2) other problems related to File Recovery (one about the .ini settings and the other one about notifications).

    I'm sorry I can't explain myself better, my english is basic so I can't write what happen in a more technical and compact way as I would like. If needed I could upload some screenshots to better visualize the issues.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2021
  10. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,386
    Location:
    Viena
    will be fixed in the next build
     
  11. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,386
    Location:
    Viena
    is that with the classic or the plus UI?
     
  12. SandboxerX86

    SandboxerX86 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2021
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    In a Sandbox
    Plus UI, can reproduce everytime, haven't checked the Classic UI.

    Thanks for taking a look David.
     
  13. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    I got this alert from my Sophos anti virus:

    I know it is a false positive but out of curiosity what resources would it be trying to access?
     
  14. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,386
    Location:
    Viena
    that exe is a wrapper for the BITS service dll form MSFT i have no idea what it might be doing that if of concern, as the inner workings of that dll are not wel lpublicly known.
     
  15. Vikterola62

    Vikterola62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    USA
    Hey folks, I installed the new version of SB-plus 64 today (v0.8.9) on my Win 7 machine and then saw the problem posted on the hub.
    My issue now is my system cannot uninstall the previous version at all and the program is dead in the water. I tried safe mode uninstall
    and it was a no-go as well as reinstalling old version (0.8.:cool: over top this broken one. The entry point error will not let me return to the previous
    state, thus the NtFilterTokenEx issue has really shut me down. Is my only recourse just to wait until David gets a new version out or is
    there a way to "force" the old version back in?
     
  16. catspyjamas

    catspyjamas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Posts:
    226
    Location:
    New Zealand
    A hotfix has apparently been released. See here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/sandboxie-plus-0-8-9.439244/#post-3022162
     
  17. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,386
    Location:
    Viena
    you can always unpack an old version as portable to some start it from there use it to shutdown the driver and service and then copy the files over the instaleld once and start it
     
  18. Vikterola62

    Vikterola62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    USA
    Most appreciated DX and catspy! Amazing work as usual with the hotfix and the portable version info.
     
  19. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    357
    Location:
    Canada
    When David started Sandboxie Plus and I switched over from the classic UI I kept my old ini files. I found the 'auto-delete contents' at shutdown was successful maybe 50% of the time so I just deleted manually when needed. I recently tried reseting the ini file to default and just recreating the couple sandboxes i use daily - there were maybe a dozen or so old ones i rarely use. It seems like the auto-delete contents (at shutdown) is working more consistently now - maybe 100% of the time, I can't recall.

    Has this come up in discussions already - is there an issue using old sandboxie ini files with sandboxie plus?
     
  20. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    414
    Location:
    VPN city
    The only issue i've had with my old INI file is the one you mentioned. I've made modifications to it based on what I see in the new settings.
     
  21. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    357
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for the reply - and did that solve the inconsistent auto-delete issue? I did a bit of tinkering with the INI file before I reset it but it didn't seem to help. It still seems to be working the majority of the time now that I've reset it but I did just have to manually delete contents in my chrome box today so there still are some issues.
     
  22. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    268
    Automatic deletion set after a clean installation is not automatic, the sandbox content is not deleted even though processes are stopped and automatic deletion is enabled. I exited the program correctly.
    2021-08-09_070530.jpg
     
  23. feerf56

    feerf56 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Posts:
    268
    Automatic deletion set after a clean installation is not automatic, the sandbox content is not deleted even though processes are stopped and automatic deletion is enabled. I exited the program correctly. at new version too (0,94)

    2021-08-23_202650.jpg
     
  24. FredB

    FredB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2020
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Australia
    Anyone else having this issue.
    "Disable Forced Programs" right click option on "Sandboxie-Plus" tray icon not working. Right click on classic tray icon works.
    SandboxiePlus 0.9.5
    Windows 10 Home
    21H1
    19043.1165

    Not sure of the correct way/place to address issues?
     
  25. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,168
    Location:
    .
    I've had similar with Plus tray icon...in the past. My 0.9.5 feels okay...at this time. Maybe, Exit Plus tray icon and Restart (not Shut down) machine.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.