Released Sandboxie Plus (Sbie fork) Versions with Signed Driver

Discussion in 'Sandboxie (SBIE Open Source) Plus & Classic' started by DavidXanatos, Dec 7, 2020.

  1. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    oh!
    in that case could you please send ma a copy of the old configuration you had, I would like to reproduce and fix the issue.

    @Survivor
    I have found one issue with
    ClosedIpcPath=\RPC Control\LSARPC_ENDPOINT
    as of now:
    MSI installers fail to elevate
    so try some other installers of the sort that only produce the UAC prompt some ware in the middle to see if that's a generic problem or msi specific.
    I would tent to add a hard coded exception for MSI if its the only one negatively affected.
     
  2. busy

    busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    117
    @DavidXanatos

    I did some trial and error with the old config and the issue is caused by long local template names. If it's longer than 48 characters it will crash.

    Code:
    Template_Local_Test0123456789xxxxxxxx49characters > 48 characters = BSOD (after reloading config)
    
    Template_Local_Test0123456789xxxxxxx48characters =< 48 characters = NO BSOD (after reloading config)
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2021
  3. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    I can confirm it, installed the witcher, which includes MS C redist. The general install went well, but the MS ones failed. Removed the parameter and it installed fine.
    Tried two other non MS installer, worked fine with parameter.
     
  4. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    strange i tryed with

    Code:
    [DefaultBox]
    
    Enabled=y
    [...]
    Template=Local_Test0123456789xxxxxxxx49charactersxxxxxxxxxx
    
    [Template_Local_Test0123456789xxxxxxxx49charactersxxxxxxxxxx]
    RecoverFolder=C:\Temp
    RecoverFolder=C:\test
    
    and did not get a crash



    @Survivor
    An other issue I found is that tools like Task info when ran in side the sandbox can no longer resolve sids and alike
     
  5. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Autostart? You mean "Start with Windows"? There seems to be no special option whether to autostart minimized in Systray or in a normal window.:confused:
     
  6. busy

    busy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    117
    @DavidXanatos
    Did you try with SandMan.exe?

    1. Sandboxie Service: Manual
    2. SandMan autorun: disabled
    3. Reboot
    4. Replace config
    5. Start SandMan (Make sure Maintenance -> Connect)
    Also:
    Sandboxie.ini_59cGuiFreezeAfterConfigReload.png
     

    Attached Files:

  7. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    i mean clear the setting and re apply it to fix the missing parameter auto start should be always in to tray, except when I forget to add the right parameter to the installer :p
     
  8. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    About the ClosedIpcPath=\RPC Control\LSARPC_ENDPOINT
    I have implemented a driver Level request filter that blocks potentially problematic requests and allows those that should be unproblematic so no more tests of that settings are required, thanks all for the participation. :D
     
  9. algol1

    algol1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2020
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ok, that I have immediately tried (uncheck "Start with Windows", applied, re-checked, applied). Doesn't seem to make any difference. Upon re-boot Sandman initially shows up again as normal window (as well as tray-icon), but the open window still needs to be closed manually.
     
  10. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    @algol1
    I just have tested that when sandman.exe is started with "-autorun" command it opens to tray and no window is shown initially.
     
  11. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    will be fixed in the next build
     
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    What is this setting for?
    Code:
    OpenProtectedStorage
     
  13. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    Got this issue not knowing if it was made by design or introduced recently or I DON'T KNOW how to handle it properly lol

    This template applied to [GlobalSettings]
    Code:
    [Template_BlockVaultAccess]
    Tmpl.Title=Block Vault Access
    Tmpl.Class=Security
    ClosedFilePath=!aaaaa.exe,E:\
    
    It works. All exes in all sandboxes got blocked access to E: except aaaaa.exe


    Then, as soon as I add one more exe:
    Code:
    [Template_BlockVaultAccess]
    Tmpl.Title=Block Vault Access
    Tmpl.Class=Security
    ClosedFilePath=!aaaaa.exe,E:\
    ClosedFilePath=!bbbbb.exe,E:\
    
    It does not work anymore. All exes are blocked to access E:
     
  14. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    uk
    I still cannot get Excel to run sandboxed, getting the error

    upload_2021-1-6_12-36-17.png

    I have tried installing SB+ into its default location, and checked that the software compatibility settings were correctly set. I also tried separate installs allowing it to find/use my old sandboxie.ini file and a totally clean install/default sandbox. I also turned off AVG but it made no difference. Nothing works!

    I have also tried using the default
    HostInjectDll=\SboxHostDll.dll
    HostInjectDll64=\SboxHostDll.dll​
    and when it was installed in my non-default location both the above and
    HostInjectDll=C:\Program Files\Utils\Sandboxie-Plus\SboxHostDll.dll
    HostInjectDll64=C:\Program Files\Utils\Sandboxie-Plus\SboxHostDll.dll​

    Software details:
    Excel (365) v2101 (build 13628.20000 Click-to-Run)
    Sandboxie-Plus v0.5.3b
    Win 10x64 v20H2 (build 19042.685)​

    I really need to get this sorted!:'(:(
     
  15. APMichael

    APMichael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Germany
    JFYI: I can confirm the problem. Every Office application now shows error 1752.

    Sandboxie Classic 5.45.2, Windows 10 20H2 (x64), Office 2016 (Click-to-Run)
     
  16. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,177
    Location:
    Viena
    @Mr.X
    that is as it should booth rules mutually exclude each other, you nead to create a program group containing aaaaa.exe and bbbbb. exe and mke a close rule with the program group.

    @henryg1 please check whats the last version that was working properly.
     
  17. Stelica

    Stelica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Romania
    Sandboxie Classic 5.45.2, Windows 10 20H2 (x64), Office 2016. All office applications works sandboxed.
     
  18. APMichael

    APMichael Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Germany
    Are you using the MSI or the C2R version?
     
  19. Survivor

    Survivor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2020
    Posts:
    132
    Location:
    Land of Oz
    Some more info for groups, I thought there is more issues with delete content, but tried again and all good.

    Remove groups, do you want to remove, yes, result: Still there
    As said, no group in group hierarchy, but funny what happens, if you try now.
    Created group TEAR
    Added to this group TEST
    And also TRA
    Result is one group in the end of list TEAR
    and two at the top :confused: What?
    Besides this box to group and out is OK.
    2021-01-06 20_34_00-Sandboxie-Plus v0.5.3b.png
    How did you even make this?? Sandboxie Plus (Sbie fork)

    I wonder if Brummelchen even still cares about groups, or he just triggered my intererest now to make it work. LOL
     
  20. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    I've been almost begging to @DavidXanatos to have a look into this issue for months last year. I'm still suffering. Lol

    So much that I started trying PopMan which runs fine so far on top of Sandboxie.
     
  21. Stelica

    Stelica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Romania
    I don't know about the version. I have Windows 10 Pro and Microsoft Office Professional Plus installed.
     
  22. EspressoGuy

    EspressoGuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2020
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    I upgraded from 5.33.3 to Classic 5.45.1 (uninstalled first). Chrome now works! Thanks!

    We get the following error when starting Chrome 87.0.4280.88 or going to some webpages:
    SBIE2303 Could not hook SetCurrentProcessExplicitAppUserModeID (33, 1655)

    It doesn't happen every time, just perhaps 50% of the time. We just choose to ignore the error and so far everything is working. Should I just hide the error? Is this how to do it?

    SbieCtrl_HideMessage=SBIE2303,SetCurrentProcessExplicitAppUserModeID
     
  23. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    4,031
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks a lot. This global template worked as you advised :geek:

    Code:
    [GlobalSettings]
    
    Template=BlockDeviceAccess
    . . .
    . .
    .
    
    [Template_BlockDeviceAccess]
    
    Tmpl.Title=Block Device Access
    Tmpl.Class=Security
    ProcessGroup=<AllowVaultAccess>,aaaaa.exe,bbbbb.exe,ccccc.exe,ddddd.exe,eeeee.exe,fffff.exe,ggggg.exe
    ClosedFilePath=!<AllowVaultAccess>,E:\
    ClosedFilePath=\Device\Harddisk3\DR3
    ClosedFilePath=G:\
    ClosedFilePath=\Device\Harddisk4\DR4
    ClosedFilePath=H:\
    ClosedFilePath=\Device\Harddisk2\DR2
    ClosedFilePath=I:\
    . . .
    . .
    .
     
  24. Stelica

    Stelica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Romania
    @DavidXanatos
    With all respect for your work, I also ask a question.
    I am a user who use sandboxie only for internet browsing and certain office documents.
    If an update of windows 10 appears, can you update the Sandboxie Classic accordingly?
    I do not intend to use Sandboxie Plus.
    Thanks!
     
  25. henryg1

    henryg1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    uk
    I have tried. In fact, I went back to 5.33.6 and still couldn't get Excel to work sandboxed. But it definitely did!

    In the process of trying various options and SB versions, I totally messed up my sandboxie.ini file and had to recreate it from a newly installed SB default. Still doesn't work though, and I have spent loads of time trying to no avail.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.