Reinstalling O/S, I Exported Eset Xml, Will It Work On New Eset Install

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by budachild, Aug 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. budachild

    budachild Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    I'm going to put a fresh O/S on my hdd and reinstall Eset. I just exported the xml settings and put it on a thumb usb drive. I was wondering if I reinstall Eset will the xml work to set Eset back the same way I have it now including my paid license password info?

    I also want to know if I have to do anything during the re installation setup of Eset that could conflict with the xml afterwards? [ie: trying to run the installation setup exactly as I remember, trying to select the same stuff months ago when I first installed Eset]
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Yes , it will work .

    If you prefer , when you download the installer file for your ESET product , place it in the same directory/folder where your configuration file is located . Then , rename the configuration file (.the xml one) exactly to cfg.xml

    The name of the file should be cfg , the extension is xml.

    Then , all you need to do is to run the installer - it will automatically get the settings from the xml file .


    The other options is - run the ESET product installer , install the program . At the end , use the Import/export settings option to get your specific configuration.
     
  3. budachild

    budachild Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    Wow thanks your smart! :D
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  5. budachild

    budachild Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    Actually the first bit of advice didn't work. I tried naming the backup "cfg.xml" and running the installer, but it still asked me to input my own settings during the install. So I had to use the backup xml after Eset was installed by using the xml and importing it.


    One question... Does backup xml's actually copy all settings including those in the advanced mode tree settings? I ask because I can't remember but I think some of my settings weren't restored when I used the xml and imported it. I'm not sure though I forgot! lol... I could be wrong! :argh:
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You should name it just cfg
    XML is the extension of the file
    The installer file (MSI type) should be in the same directory/folder as is the xml file.

    And yes , everything re. program (not per-user) settings is exported .
     
  7. budachild

    budachild Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    I did name it cfg.xml [xml bing the extension]... Maybe it doesn't work with newer versions of Eset!
     
  8. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I believe the import of the xml file only works if the installer is working silently, ie. with use of the command line.
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Of course not . It should work . I do use this method very often when installing the program on clients' computers
     
  10. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

  11. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    When using cfg.xml, it still asks the questions during setup, but when I tested it out, I chose to "Set update parameters later" and when it was installed I checked the update settings and the UN/PW from the XML file were in there. Running the install in silent mode keeps it from asking the questions, but it still uses the settings from the XML file.

    The latest version 4.0.437 will have the answers to the questions already filled in. For example, my UN/PW was already entered in for me so all I had to do was click Next.
     
  12. Brambb

    Brambb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ok, I just tested it and it seems it does work. Cause it still asks for the options during the installation I always thought it did not use the cfg.xml file, but it does! My bad.

    /Edit:
    Ah, is this new since that version? I was already shocked it showed the UN/PW now cause I was pretty sure that didn't happen last time I tested it! :)
     
  13. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Yeah, I tested it once before and don't remember seeing the UN/PW in there, so I'm pretty sure it's something added to the latest build.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.