Reinstall Vista

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by RodgerMac, Nov 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RodgerMac

    RodgerMac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    31
    Hi I'm thinking about reinstalling my Windows Vista portion of my main hard drive. I have OS Selector already running. What kind of stuff do I need to know before I do this? What pitfalls am i going to run into? thanks Rodger
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Are you installing Vista from a standard Microsoft OEM or Retail DVD?

    Are you only running Vista or do you have other OS's installed?

    If you install through the OSS Menu (using the Vista DVD entry), then you may not have to reactivate OSS.

    However you do it, you may have to either reactivate or reinstall OSS once Vista is reinstalled. Otherwise, I think it should go okay.

    Depending on your setup, you may want to deactivate OSS and select Vista as the default OS. Then reinstall Vista. Then reactivate OSS.
     
  3. RodgerMac

    RodgerMac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    31
    I'm installing Vista from a standard retail DVD. My drive currently has XP on seperate partition and Vista on the second with OSS letting me decide which to boot too. Default is Vista. MudCrab I had heck with this installing all this a few months back so and I printed out your wise instructions then. I just want to make sure I can't screw anything up. I did some how mess up Vista, although it's stupid what is messed up and I could probably live without having to reinstall. But hey learn from your mistakes right. Thanks Rodger
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    My advice to anyone in a situtation like this would be to create a Full Disk Image backup of the drive before making any changes. If you need to purchase a large USB hard drive or get another internal drive to be able to do this, it is well worth it.

    If anything goes wrong, you can restore your Entire Disk Image and be back where you were. Then you can try again. The reason for the Entire Disk Image backup is because it restores the entire drive back to the state it was (including the Vista 2048 offset, GRUB, etc.). Backing up and restoring individual partitions will not do this.

    If you want to send me a PM on the Vista problem, feel free. There may be a solution that won't require a reinstallation.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.