Registry Cleaner

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Dazed_and_Confused, May 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dazed_and_Confused

Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

Can anyone recommend a good, and FREE, automatic Registry Cleaner? I've just tried both JV16 Power Tools and RegSupreme (both by Macecraft Software), and they are excellent tools, and the most powerful I've seen. But before I shell out some of my hard-earned cash for one of the tools, I wanted to make sure there wasn't a freebie around that's just as good.

2. Mullyman

Mullyman Registered Member

I really like using RegSeeker....has a lot of features and it is freeware....it is designed for the novice or experienced user:

RegSeeker

3. Dazed_and_Confused

Thanks, Mullyman. Have you ever used the products by Macecraft? I've never tried RegSeeker before, but I have used a number of reg cleaners (including Norton Utilities), and I've never found one that found/eliminated as many problems as JV-16 Power Tools did.

4. MikeBCda

MikeBCda Registered Member

Hi Dazed,

I'll have to agree that (at least in my opinion) nothing but nothing can touch JV-16 -- it was a major blow when it became shareware instead of freeware. Even in just its registry cleaner, it gives useful notes about what it doesn't like in things it finds that it feels should come out, as opposed to other products which typically give you just a "raw" listing of them.

The biggest thing to watch for with Macecraft is payment -- their "preferred" payment service (with a long Finnish name) is the pits, will almost always reject credit. Visa isn't happy with them (even my service rep there was unsuccessful trying to do me a favor by using her own account), but they claim they can't do anything about it themselves.