Regdefend vs Prevx

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by pires3, May 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pires3

pires3 Registered Member

I'm new at wilders, so I hope this is the correct forum to post this question.

What are the main diferences between regdend and the free Prevx Home 2.1?

Thanks.

2. Vikorr

Vikorr Registered Member

RegDefend works on the principle that spyware/trojans want to autorun, and to do so on their own, they must change the autostart areas of your registry. Regdefend is a kernel level program, and intercepts such attempts BEFORE they change your registry. This makes it much better defence than a registry monitor that polls for changes after the event has occurred, then attempting to undo the change.

Regdefend does have some weaknesses
    1. A trojan/worm may inject itself into an autorun process. This way it doesnt have to change the registry
    2. Certainly doesn't protect against Virii (it doesn't claim to)
    3. if a rootkit installs itself at Kernel level, I doubt that RD would be able to prevent it making changes to the registry (this is just a guess though)

PrevX home's basic premise is 'if they can't install, they can't hurt you. PrevX does have some registry protection, can't say how much though. PrevX works by protecting areas of your computer commonly chosen by spyware/trojans as their installation. It protects new executables (ie spyware trojans, maybe worms) from installing in those locations. It also protects your system autorun processes from modification (ie trojans injection), it protects (not sure just how strong this part is) from buffer overflow (used by some worms).

PrevX has some weaknesses too.

1. It's registry protection doesn't seem as strong as RegDefends (will always get the request from RD before you get one from PrevX)