Regarding virus testing site and Symantec

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by tbplayer, Oct 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tbplayer

tbplayer Registered Member

I've been using VirusBulletin for many years, and from this forum I've learned about AV-Comparatives. Something I've noticed about both sites is that Norton/Symantec is either not tested as frequently as other av programs, and sometimes isn't is the ratings at all. Does someone know if there is a reason for this?

2. Techwiz

Techwiz Registered Member

I've seen this question asked before, and usually the answer is that some AV Comparison sites conduct tests that Symantec does not believe provide an accurate representation of their security product. This usually snowballs into a debate between pro-symantec and anti-symantec folks. One argue Symantec doesn't like the bad publicity, while the other argues Symantec has proven itself and continues to prove itself independently. I've used Symantec/Norton when it was still a heavy application with hit & miss protection. I'd say they've improved substantial since the release of Norton 360 and do not deserve some of the cr@p that I've seen circulated around some forums.

Personally, I think the av comparative sites including most reviews (magazines, blogs, etc.) provide companies a means to pay for good publicity. Some companies just don't want to pay to compete. A decision I personally respect. Of course this is just my personal opinion. I'd say test out as many antivirus as you want and see what you like. I don't think you can go wrong, as long as you implement a layered security approach that doesn't conflict.

3. tbplayer

tbplayer Registered Member