reformatted pc take years to boot up

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by korb, Dec 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. korb

    korb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    singapore-thailand
    my 2nd time reformat on a newly hdd started to have this problem.

    80gb reformatted to NTFS
    reinstalled XP SP2
    after everything installed xp reboot again into the introduction of xp,here is where the delay began.

    i tried using bootvis to see where is the delay

    it appeared that the delay begin when it reached 'registry+pagefile' stage during booting. took about 300 sec to finish that stage.

    anyone know is this a hdd problem or what.i even haven'tt started to install any software yet.
     
  2. korb

    korb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    singapore-thailand
    here is 1 ss
     

    Attached Files:

  3. True Orient

    True Orient Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Posts:
    88
    I am not certain but I feel your last install's 'registry+pagefile' seems to have been written on a "hard to read" (bad sector?) sector of your HDD. This may have been caused by a surface defect that causes a delay in read/write of your pagefile and registry.

    If so, a low level reformat may be called for prior to reinstallation. Another option is to run Spinrite 6....
     
  4. korb

    korb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    singapore-thailand

    i have 3 hdd.

    i installed my os in 89gb(new) on master

    2nd hdd 20gb on slave

    3rd is 10 gb on slave

    i used to installed my os on the 2 nd hdd before buying this new 80 gb hdd

    but the 2 nd started to have problem .no matter how many time i reformat it reinstalled xp.it will boot up and do chkdisk for sometimes as long as 2 whole days.i suspect it may be a disk fault .so i buy this new 80 gb.

    the delay is caused by the 2nd hdd.the first time i installed on my new 80 gb hdd it was ok.i figured out that that time i did not do any partition on my 2nd hdd,so it did not affect my boot up time.once i partition my 2nd hdd to use it as a backup disk ,it get this problem during booting.

    so now the problem is with this 2nd hdd.if i plug it in again.although it is not my master anymore .it still boot to chkdisk again as i just tried out.

    is there anyway to fix this problem,i just don't want to waste this 20gb hdd away just like that.
     
  5. korb

    korb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    singapore-thailand
    btw,how to do low leve reformat.should i choose the normal reformat over the quick reformat.before i plug my 2nd hdd in.thanks
     
  6. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    If the 20Gb HDD is failing, then get the data off it and take it out. It's not a waste if it's a failing drive, as you're likely to lose anything that's on that drive anyway. What you're describing sounds a lot like a drive that I've spent this entire week trying to recover data from. It's not worth it, you can get another drive for not very much.

    Just get the data off it now. If you really want to then you can run the diagnostic tool from the drive manufacturer afterwards, but if it's doing that then you want to play it safe and copy the data somewhere safe as soon as you can. After that you can try zeroing the drive (aka "low level format" - you generally use the manufacturer's diagnostic disk for this, too) and running some more diagnostics on it if you absolutely insist.

    You would NOT want to do a "quick format". The difference between a "full" and a "quick" format is that the full format does a disk check to identify any bad sectors and exclude them. When a drive is having those kinds of problems, a quick format isn't going to help anything. I would strongly recommend that you use the manufacturer's disk to do anything at this point, and seriously consider retiring the drive. I can't make a more specific determination without more info, but I wouldn't take any risks by assuming it's something that can be fixed. Most 20Gb drives are old enough that they're either gone or on their way out now.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2007
  7. korb

    korb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    singapore-thailand
    actually there is no more data on the 20gb hdd.i already reformat it.yes now hdd is cheap,that why i bought the new 80gb hdd but just that if the 20gb is saveable i wold not want to watse it and it can be use as backup.


    btw, where to locate manufacturer's diagnostic disk .vendor website?
     
  8. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Yes, you'll need to go to the hard drive manufacturer's website. If you got the hard drive as a part of an OEM system (a brand name computer like Dell, Compaq, Gateway, etc.) then you'll need to find out who makes the actual drive and go to the manufacurer's site.

    I can understand not wanting to discard perfectly fine hardware, but this doesn't sound like hardware that is perfectly fine. If it's dropping sectors and keeps having problems after running check disk (including a full format), then it's likely gone. You also have to ask yourself when it becomes too much trouble than it's worth to keep working on. I had to keep working on the drive that I did for a full week because I had to restore data from it, but otherwise it was simply not worth it, and obviously a lost cause - the drive was replaced immediately. Do you quit when you get the drive working as-is, put data on it, and then lose that data? Or do you call it a loss and get a new drive that you can rely on? (Of course you can just use the new drive, but if you're like me you might want a second drive for data as the 80Gb would fill up with apps and games.)
     
  9. korb

    korb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Posts:
    150
    Location:
    singapore-thailand
    yes i agreed with you.even if i did manage to get the hdd work again,it may failed again.well me will wait for 'IT' fair next years:)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.