red virus alert

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by taperino, Jan 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. taperino

    taperino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    Hi,
    I was online and heard a system beep. About 10 minutes later got a red warning from NOD32. Said I had a virus. from sexlabs, as well as adware mediatickets downloader application.

    I ran NOD in safe mode, and the sexlabs didn't show up, but the adware one did and said I had a virus. I hit clean but it just goes an scans again.

    Please help. Whatever it is opened my ms messenger (the chat one) which I never use and another application.

    I have dsl and am worried about redial.

    I have nod32 and zone alarm. Thanks for any help. Ganaan
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    If it were me, I would scan in the safe mode. If it comes back, shut down system restore, and rescan.
     
  3. taperino

    taperino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    Dear Ronjor,

    I already ran the nod32 in safe mode in my letter above. So I'm a little confused. Should I do what you are saying again?

    How do I get rid of the virus when I hit the clean button and Nod just starts scanning again? How does Nod get rid of a virus?

    Also, I don't understand sys restore. Where do I shut that off, and how long do I keep it off?

    Simple here. lol, Thanks, Ganaan
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Sorry. I overlooked that.

    Did you try to delete the malware? If they are adware or trojans, don't try to clean them, just delete them.
     
  5. taperino

    taperino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    Thanks Ronjor, How do I delete? The only option I see is to clean.

    Thanks, Ganaan
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    If you do an on demand scan, you should be able to click on the file listed in the scanning log as malware and take action.
     
  7. Sweetie(*)(*)

    Sweetie(*)(*) Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Venus
    Hi, with Nod32 if u know there is malware present always use the clean function as it will prompt you to delete the file, the scan function only does just that scan, you need to use the clean or manually browse to the file and use Nod there.

    Nod32 and ZAP is an excellent combination by the way.
     
  8. taperino

    taperino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    Thank you both. I was able to delete the virus.

    Where would I get zap?

    Thanks, Ganaan
     
  9. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.