Recreating a Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by JeffB, Nov 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    This started out a DD question here https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1352188#post1352188, but has become a TI question so I am posting here now.
    ---------------------
    I was running out of room on my C: partition and tried to resize using DD, however, the partition has bad sectors and DD wouldn’t allow me to resize. I decided the best option was to get a new drive and recreate the existing drive onto the new drive, resizing the partitions in the process. Here is my progress.

    To ensure I could create and recover and Archive:

    1) Installed TI 2009 –> Created Boot Disk -> Used “One-Click” to create backup of system volume 'C:' and MBR onto Partition ‘I:’. (Did NOT create Secure Zone and did NOT activate Acronis Recovery Manager).

    2) Next I restored this backup to an external USB 2.0 drive. Restore -> whole disk and partitions (sector by sector NOT selected) -> Selected MyBackup.tib and MBR as soruce -> Selected external drive to restore to -> Selected Active -> Resized to 140Gb (from 18Gb to test restore & resize function) -> Proceed.

    3) Once the restoration was complete I shut down power, removed drive 0 from the computer, and installed external drive in its place. Booted and everything worked fine (except for the fact that I didn’t back up all the partitions).

    Should I run chkdsk /r on this newly created drive/partition?

    With this I felt comfortable that I could recreate my current drive with bad sectors onto a new purchased drive.

    4) First I used Disk Management to get a graphic representation of my drive.

    5) Next step was to create a backup image of the entire drive. Backup -> My Computer -> Source: Selected all partitions on Drive 0 (did NOT select sector-by sector) -> Destination: Selected external USB 2.0 drive -> Create NEW backup archive -> Backup Method – FULL -> No File exclusions -> Compression-NORMAL -> Priority-NORMAL -> Proceed

    6) When I woke up the next morning True Image was closed, so I opened and tried to validate the backup. The default source was the test image on drive “I:” so I browsed to the external drive and selected the correct image. However I received a popup “This is not the last volume of the backup archive”. This would seem to be the type of error you would get if I had made an incremental or differential backup, however, I made a full backup. Note I did put the date into file name, though that shouldn’t matter.

    Any thoughts on why I would get this message? I’m not sure what TI looks at to decide if it is the last volume of an archive. Could it be just a bad image giving me this message?

    Obviously I need to resolve this before I attempt to recreate my drive on the new drive.
     
  2. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Check line 3 of my signature below. This guide has been newly revised and even more helpful than before. While it is not supposed to matter in Windows, it is safer that you not use spaces or periods as part of the file name and to make sure that the extension .tib is added as part of the name.

    You should be able to create a full disk image (all partitions on that disk) of our old hard drive and store the image on the external. Then remove the old drive and install the new blank unformatted drive and restore the full disk image onto the new blank drive using the "Partition Restore with Resize" guide.

    There has been several postings regarding the bad sectors issue. All of the above can be done using True Image Home.
    Usually changing the size of the partition will cause TI to bypass the bad sectors.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2008
  3. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Grover, thanks for the quick reply.

    I followed the current version (9-10-11) to get as far as I am. BTW - thanks, great guide.

    I am not home to verify - but I am QUITE sure I followed your advice to not use spaces or periods in the file name. I think my filename was something like "BackupOrignalDrive19NOV2008.tib".

    I have already bought the new hard drive and need to restore the image of the old drive onto it. However, I was unable to verify the image I made last night, receiving the “This is not the last volume of the backup archive”.

    I need to figure out why I got this error, or at least how to safely get by this error.
     
  4. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I would perform another full disk backup and use the external as storage for the file. You should have room on the external for several backup.image*.tib files. Your best chance for success is if the new drive is in its normal boot position when restored. Restore the image from the external onto the new drive in boot position. Yoou might try using the disk manufacturers utility disk to seal out the back sectors before the backup?
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2008
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I try to avoid ending my image filenames with numbers too. I usually use a "-" or "_" so any numbers added by TI are separated from my numbers.

    Is the backup completely in one file?

    How large is the file?

    You might try renaming it to something else (OriginalBackup.tib, for example) and seeing if you can access it correctly.

    I assume there are no other image files that include the same filename?

    When you tried to access the image file, was it from Windows or when booted to the TI CD?

    Are you using the latest build of TI 2009 (9,615)?
     
  6. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    I will try to create the backup again - I just hope I don't wait 8 hours for the backup to find out I get the same error again. My external is a 120GB and the backup image is approximately 28GB - so you are correct I should have room on the external for several backup.image*.tib files.
    I plan on putting the new drive in the normal boot postion (internal slot 0, SATA) when restoring, but first I need to have an image that verifies good. After eight hours I got a file that said "“This is not the last volume of the backup archive” when I tried to validate.

    Your procedures are quite thorough and I think I am following them to a "T". Not sure why I got the pop up I got. I have contemplated uninstalling TI and reinstalling. Then NOT using one-click to make an image of the system first (as I did to test my ability to follow you precedures), rather use the wizard to make an image of the entire disk onto the external.
    I would rather not muck with the disk much until I get a viable backup image. I did use CHKDSK /R to fix the bad sectors and it appeared to work as subsequent scans showed no errors. (Note that I did not do a surface scan).
     
  7. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Yes
    Approximately 28 GB
    That's a great suggestion. I will try that when I get home tonight.
    Correct
    From Windows
    I would have to verify for sure, but I believe so. I ordered TI 2009 from NewEgg on 18-Nov. That same day I downloaded a copy of TI 2009 from the Acronis site. That is the copy I am currently using. Once the copy from NewEgg arrives I wil use it's register code. (If I can do that without uninstalling then reinstalling).
     
  8. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Many have found the only troublefree method of installing a True Image update is to un-install the old version first before install the new update. I know that ACronis says it's not necessary but for some, they have been proven wrong. Be safe. Uninstall and reinstall.

    You can check your version number in the current installed version under help.
     
  9. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Understood - I will uninstall and reinstall. Thanks Grover :)
     
  10. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Jeff,
    In my post #4, I forgot to mention that the new backup should be created when booted from the TI Rescue CD. Do not use Windows for this backup. You may have a better chance for a successful backup creation.
     
  11. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Gents, sorry for the long post , but I had a less then spectacular night with TI 2009. I’m starting to get a real uneasy feeling with TI 2009, when this program is supposed to give me a secure feeling about my computer.

    First I tried to simply rename the image I had made but still got the "“This is not the last volume of the backup archive” popup. This was a long shot but worth a try

    Next, I tried to validate from the Boot Disk vice Windows. No joy, same popup. Note: I tried to validate a different Backup image but this time when I clicked validate it did nothing as if it was “grayed” out.

    At this point I thought I uninstall and reinstall TI. Ran uninstall from Add/Remove Programs. Said it was uninstalled, asked for reboot. Noted shortcut was still on desktop (though Acronis icon was gone). Looked at Add/Remove programs – TI 2009 was still listed. Tried to uninstall again – received error. Googled issue – seems you need a third party uninstalled such as revo uninstaller to uninstall. I put the TI 2009 program disk back in – and repaired installation. Seemed to work okay.

    Now I tried to create a new backup image from the boot disk. Chose all the parameters - clicked proceed – received popup that I could not run this feature from trial version. (Note I am still running the trial version downloaded from Acronis and expect the TI disk from NewEgg today. Though I’m starting to question whether or not to keep it).

    Finally, I disabled all antivirus, etc. Ran another backup from Windows. Ran all night – woke up to saying it was successful and validated.

    Given the issues I have with this version – I’m now not sure I want to use this image for my new drive. I have my files organized well. Contemplating doing a fresh install of Windows and starting from scratch.

    It’s too bad. I really didn’t expect issues with this program. I have had DD for years with no issues. Now I’m not sure if I want to use TI or not.
     
  12. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Recheck your email from newegg and see if they provided a serial number within the email. Once you have the serial, you can then register your purchase and download the latest build. Also download the safe mode version from the same link so you can include it in your new rescue cd. Then try both the full mode and safe mode when attempting to boot using the Rescue CD.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2008
  13. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    No serial number in email only item# and invoice#. That's fine though, tracking shows it is out for delivery today. Should be there when I get home tonight.

    BTW - I was able to make an image that validated last night. Ended up a 46.8GB file. Thanks for all your and MudCrabs help. My dilemma now is the somewhat uneasiness I have with version 2009. Not sure if I want to use this program and it's image. Considering reloading Windows OS and starting from scratch. Researching this issue I came across quite a few peolpe have similiar issues with TI 2009.
     
  14. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    If you are serious about reloading Windows and starting from scratch, then now would be a golden opportunity to utiilze TrueImageHome. Go ahead and do your resizing and restores or whatever. Should it fail, you will still have the experience and can then proceed with the beginning. Or, if it should succeed, you will still learn more and have some comfort level. Should you try the restore option, be sure and perform from the TI Rescue CD.

    The guide listed on line 3 of my signature has been revised and improved with a new version dated Nov 17 now available for download.

    Don't forget, one of the nicer things about the TrueImage Home program is its ability to simulate whatever procedures you have planned. Remember is still practice up to the point where you choose to press the Cancel or Proceed options. Pressing cancel stops your practice whereas pressing the Proceed button actual starts the procedure you have been practicing.
     
  15. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Good Point - maybe I will "practice" restoring onto the new drive. If all fails I am prepared to reload Windows XP.
     
  16. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I would encourage you not to return the software but that of course that's your decision. I would install (as discussed before) the newest version and create new rescue CD's, etc. Many of any existing problems should be fixed in future releases. If possible, it would best to test your intended procedures using a backup or restore when done from the newest release. Good luck with whatever you decide!
     
  17. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    I should have TI 2009 from NewEgg when I get home. I will try to uninstall the current version and then install the newest version.

    Should I install the one from NewEgg then try to update, or download the latest from Acronis and use the key from the copy I got from NewEgg?

    Next I try to restore to my new harddrive.
     
  18. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    I would just download the latest build from Acronis and use it.
     
  19. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Get the serial number off the user manual inside the newegg package and register it with Acronis.

    This registration will then enable you to download the latest version and additionally enable you to download the safemode version.

    The retail version is normally a bootable version with all the normal capabilities of the TI Rescue CD plus it has the install program included. It may or may not be the latest version. You can boot from the NewEgg cd and check its version number. You can then compare the version number with that listed on your registration page as available for download.

    Should a person have a system which is not bootable, then the retail CD can provide immediate access to TrueImage Home. On the other hand, if the system is usable and downloads can be performed, once a Rescue CD is created from the fresh download (after installation), then there is no difference between the functions of the retail versus that of the downloaded rescue CD. The real clue here is to use the latest build. There is no need to download a fresh copy if the build downloaded is the same as already available on the Newegg CD.
     
  20. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    The version I downloaded and have been using is 12.0.0.9615. I'm not sure how to find out what the most current is at Acronis. I did just download this on Monday - so I believe it is the most current.

    This disc from NewEgg doesn't show the version. There is no real "manual", just an insert "QuickStart Guide" with no version listed. Can I check the version without installing?

    Is the "Rescue CD" the same thing as the bootable CD I created with an ISO image from TI 2009?. This gave me a bootable disk where I can select DD or TI and a couple other options I can't remember right now.
     
  21. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Hmm, I don't suppose I can resize to a SMALLER drive can I. The data used portions of the disk are about 140GB and the drive is 160GB - however - the backup was made from a 200GB drive. I don't see an option from the bootable TI disk to resize when restoring.

    NOTE: My new drive is a WD Caviar Black 640GB, but I was going to use this to do a new install of Windows XP. I have a "spare" 160GB that I wanted to try this recover to insure I could do it and it would give me two viable copies of the current system in case things went terribly awry.

    ...... I decided to do the restore from Windows which allows me to resize the partitions to fit on the 160GB drive. I'm going to start the restore now. I'll post results when complete. One thing I did note was that if I selected to restore the MBR it selected the entire disk which prevents me from resizing. So, I did not select MBR, allowing me to resize the restore each partition to the 160GB drive.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2008
  22. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Login to your Acronis account and the versions available for download should be displayed.
    Boot from the NewEgg CD and the version number should be displayed in the help section.
    Yes
    This catch 22 is something new. However, you can also select the restore mbr/track 0 option as the last part of the restore.
     
  23. JeffB

    JeffB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Posts:
    17
    Well things seem to have gone quite well. I left the restore running when I went to bed. This morning I woke up to the "Successful" screen. I removed my old drive 0 and installed the newly imaged 160GB drive. Booted up and everything seems to be working fine. (Note: I did not restore MDR, but things seem to be working well. Any symptoms to look for?).

    Many thanks to all the posters on this forum, the author of the guides on this forum, and especially MudCrab and Grover. Without their assistance and the confidence they provided I would have sent this version of TI back. I agree with another poster out there that said we are beta testing TI 2009 for Acronis.
     
  24. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Thank you for your perserverence. I'm glad things went well. Now you should run the chkdsk to find and fix any errors on the new drive and perform a new full disk option backup using the new drive.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2008
  25. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    I am really glad to know that the issue has been resolved. I should add that you can find out the build number of the program by making right-click on the installation file -> Properties -> Version.

    Thank you.

    __

    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.