Recovery Problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Briandr, Dec 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Briandr

Briandr Registered Member

Hi All,

I am new to Acronis True Image. Most of my experience has been with Norton Ghost. Here is what I am trying to do. I backed up a Windows 2000 Pro computer sometime ago to a Seagate external hard drive. The internal hard drive inside the computer recently crashed. I bought a replacement hard drive and it should be ready to go. When I access Acronis via F11 I go to Recovery. Here is where it gets interesting. Acronis sees the Seagate external hard drive when I try to do a partition restore, but it can not see the hard drive inside the computer! Now that I think of it when I was testing this out before the original hard drive crashed it never saw it when attempting a partition restore. If I try and do a recovery of files and folders it can see the internal hard drive. Really weird unless I am doing something wrong. If I am wropg here please just give me the step by steps for image recovery from an external device. Before anyone mentions storing the image in a hidden partition let me just say what good is that if the whole drive goes dead? Thanks for taking the time to read this and possibly helping out.

2. bodgy

bodgy Registered Member

Re: 2nd Request For Assistance

I'm not sure that the SZ is meant to go on an external harddrive, in fact, it would seem to negate it's purpose.

I take it you can still boot into Windows and startup TI. If so, I'd make a rescue CD and see if that can see your internal hard drive.

I would be tempted, to delete the SZ (using TI disk management) and start over again.

I think it might be that TI is looking for it's SZ on the hard drive can't find it, and doesn't quite know what to do next.

I've never used the SZ, so I'm not too sure of its vagaries.

Colin

3. dbknox

dbknox Registered Member