Recovery medium doesn't work! No keyboard response!

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by DAVID888FRIENDLY, Sep 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DAVID888FRIENDLY

    DAVID888FRIENDLY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    UNITED STATES


    (( RECOVERY MEDIUM DOESN'T WORK! NO KEYBOARD RESPONSE! ))
    _____________________________________________________


    Hello!

    ---
    Summary:

    I want to be able to make backups and
    do restores from a DVD---not
    from within windows when it is running.

    Can I do this with the FREE version?

    Do I need to buy the paid version?

    The keyboard is not responding in the FREE VERSION!

    ---

    Details of What I Did:

    I just download PARAGON FREE backup.

    I used the RECOVERY MEDIA BUILDER
    to make a DVD to boot from.

    I used all the defaults.

    Everything ran smoothly.

    ---

    Then I ran "CHECK RECOVERY DISCS".
    The program said everything was fine.

    ---

    I then tried to boot up with the DVD in
    the DVD drive.

    I hit ESC to boot from DVD,
    got the boot menu,
    and chose to boot from DVD.

    The PARAGON screen came up---
    but the KEYBOARD DID NOT RESPOND
    to any keypress!!!

    I tried hitting enter, the arrows,
    pageup, return, etc.

    NO RESPONSE ON ANY KIND FROM THE KEYBOARD!!!

    ---

    I created two DVD's in this way---
    and both times---
    the same thing happened---
    NO RESPONSE FROM THE KEYBOARD!

    The PARAGON SCREEN is there,
    but there is no response from the keyboard!

    ---

    My DVD Reader Writer Work Fine:

    Both my keyboard and my DVD reader/writer
    work fine.

    I use them to make recovery media
    for different backup software that
    I use (MACRIUM).

    I use the MACRIUM DVD to make
    backups regularly--and it works fine
    (and the keyboard works fine.)

    ---

    My Goal:
    I want to be able to make backups and
    do restores from a DVD---not
    from within windows when it is running.

    ---

    I saw people talking on this forum
    about WINPE vs BARTPE.

    I also saw this in the documentation.

    I found both of these very confusing.

    I did not see a
    clear, simple, easy to understand description
    of whether the FREE VERSION
    will let you actually
    boot from from a DVD and
    1. do a backup
    2. do a restore.

    I sort of got the impression you needed
    the paid version to do this.

    If I buy the PAID version will it worko_O

    Has anyone else every had this KEYBOARD NOT
    RESPONDING problem?

    ---

    P.S. I get the impression the PARAGON
    is a good solid problem that works---
    is this true?

    Thanks for your help!

    David
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The CD version allows you to make backups and do restores.

    If you keyboard is wireless then there may be a driver problem with the CD version. This version is Linux and may not have a suitable driver for your wireless keyboard. There is no way of adding a driver.

    The WinPE rescue CD is Windows based and uses Windows drivers and has a better selection of drivers available. You can also add drivers when you build it or load them when you run it.

    If the problem is due to the keyboard being wireless you can attach an inexpensive wired keyboard for use with the program. They are very cheap these days if you don't have one.

    Paragon is a reliable product but like all software there are things that some people don't like about it but these things are usually in the user-interface not the core backup and restore functions which are reliable.
     
  3. DAVID888FRIENDLY

    DAVID888FRIENDLY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    UNITED STATES
    URGENT: Recovery medium doesn't work!

    Hello!

    Thanks for your rapid response!

    I am NOT using a wireless keyboard.

    I am using a wired keyboard--
    plugged directly into the USB port on my computer.

    My computer does not even have an old style
    PS2 port for keyboards--it only has a USB port---
    which I assume PARAGON drivers
    can handle.

    ---


    The Keyboard IS Working (But Appears NOT to Be!)

    I just tried the RECOVERY MEDIUM again.

    Apparently the keyboard IS working!

    What happens is this:

    1. I boot up with the RECOVERY MEDIUM.

    2. The main PARAGON screen shows up--
    with the menu of options.

    3. I press the ENTER key to select the
    DEFAULT OPTION.

    4. Right underneath the menu---

    a thin rectangle appears---
    under the main menu--
    about 1/3 inch high---
    with about the same width as the menu--
    with NOTHING in it!

    (as though the program was TRYING
    to work---
    but only this thin horizontal
    rectangle appears.)

    ===

    I then tried pressing lots of keys on
    my keyboard.

    The only key that produced any response
    was PRINTSCREEN---
    which produced a very low beep.

    ===

    So it looks like my keyboard IS working!


    Because

    1. It brought up the thin rectangle
    under the main menu.

    2. My PRINTSCREEN button makes
    a low beep.

    ===

    So for some reason, the RECOVERY
    MEDIA is NOT working on my computer.

    ===

    If I buy the PAID VERSION
    (Home paid version)
    will this solve the problem?

    Does the PAID VERSION
    come with more drivers?

    If the PAID version does NOT work,
    will I be able to
    create a support ticket to
    PARAGON tech support?

    If after all that,
    it STILL
    does not work,
    will PARAGON refund my
    money for the PAID version?

    ===

    Here are the specs for my computer:

    HP Pavilion Elite HPE-400z customizable Desktop PC

    * • Genuine Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    * • AMD Athlon(TM) X4 635 quad-core processor [2.9GHz, 2MB L2, up to 4000MHz bus]

    * • FREE UPGRADE! 6GB DDR3-1333MHz SDRAM [3 DIMMs] from 4GB
    * • FREE UPGRADE! 750GB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive from 500GB
    * • 750GB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive
    * • Microsoft Office Starter 2010

    * • Norton Internet Security(TM) 2011 - 15 month

    * • 512MB ATI Radeon HD 5450 [DVI, HDMI, VGA adapter]
    * • No speakers

    * • LightScribe 16X max. DVD+/-R/RW SuperMulti drive

    * • Integrated Ethernet port, No wireless LAN

    * • 15-in-1 memory card reader, 1 USB, 1394, audio, with USB 3.0 card

    ===

    Thanks for your help!

    David
     
  4. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    The only thing I can suggest apart from contacting Paragon support or waiting for somebody else to answer your question is to try a different keyboard. Is you keyboard one of the fancy ones with a lot of clever buttons? If so, try a simple plain one.
     
  5. DAVID888FRIENDLY

    DAVID888FRIENDLY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    UNITED STATES
    Hello!


    Hello!

    Thanks for your reply!

    I am using the simplest possible keyboard--
    bought from WALMART--
    no fancy buttons or anything like that.

    It is a USB keyboard plugged directly into
    the USB port on the back of the computer.

    I could try plugging it into a DIFFERENT
    PORT--if I can find one.

    ===

    I could theoretically try to find
    some OTHER simple keyboard--
    buy that--and try that!

    ===

    I am thinking of buying the PAID
    home version.

    That will have WINPE--with more drivers---
    correct?

    Hopefully this will solve the problem.

    If not, maybe PARAGON tech support
    has some ideas.

    Perhaps they have some more drivers
    that I can try.

    It's interesting that I should be having
    this problem---since this is a fairly
    new computer--with WINDOWS 7 pro.

    ===

    Also, the problem may NOT be the
    keyboard---as I explained above---
    since when I press ENTER--
    the THIN RECTANGLE appears
    under the menu.

    ===

    I could try pressing DOWN ARROW
    when the menu first appears---
    and see if that moves me
    down to the second entry
    in the menu.

    (I usually press ENTER--
    which brings up the THIN RECTANGLE
    under the menu)

    ===

    Hopefully when I solve this problem--
    it will also help any other people
    solve similar problems in the future!

    ===

    On PARAGON'S website they say
    they have a 30 day guarantee.

    Hopefully that is true!

    ===

    I would really like to have this product
    work!

    Then I would have two potentially
    good backups---MACRIUM + PARAGON!

    YAY!

    P.S.
    I suspect these two are two of the best.
    Do you know of any others--equally
    reliable?

    Thanks for your help!
    David
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2013
  6. jnthn

    jnthn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    185
    Have you tried a different mode when booting from the recovery cd? Safe Mode?
     
  7. DAVID888FRIENDLY

    DAVID888FRIENDLY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    UNITED STATES
    Hello,

    Thanks for your reply.

    I tried safe mode.

    That did not work.

    I tried safe mode with very basic graphics.

    That HALF WORKED.

    It did NOT show the USB external drives.

    ===

    I solved the problem by
    buying the PAID VERSION (HOME VERSION).

    I then used the BOOT MEDIA BUILDER
    (not the WINPE recovery builder).

    This looks like it works!!!

    YAY!!!

    You just have to be a little careful/observant
    of your external drive letters
    when using this.

    ===

    Thanks to both people who replied to
    my posting!

    David
     
  8. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    You may be doing this, but do not rely on any drive letters. Drive letters are not fixed by the device but are assigned by the OS.

    Ensure you have meaningful labels on all your partitions so you can tell them apart regardless of what OS is running.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.