Recovery Manager on HD Possible?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Ewyuu4j0, Jul 3, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ewyuu4j0

    Ewyuu4j0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    I'm a registered user of DDS10 and TI10. I'm wondering whether there's a way I can get the Recovery Manager CD onto disk and have OSSA recognize it as a bootable OS. I'm sure this has to be possible, but I haven't been able to figure it out.

    Any ideas?

    TIA.

    -Jeremy
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Are you asking if you can install TI and DD into a partition on an internal hard drive and then boot to it using OSS?

    If so, then yes, you can install TI and DD onto an interal hard drive and boot to it. It needs to be on its own drive to be done easily, but can be done on a partition on the main drive if necessary.

    Basically you would follow the instructions in my guide (see the link in my signature) for creating a bootable USB hard drive, only you would restore to the "other" internal drive.

    I have not tested whether or not OSS will detect the Acronis bootable partition or not. I suspect it would since it will detect the external device, usb hard disk or flash drive (and take it over, making it unbootable --- but that's another problem).

    If you have a spare internal drive to try, go ahead and see if it works. I may test the procedure later myself.

    If you don't have a spare drive and need to install it to your primary hard drive, then I would have to work out a set of instructions.
     
  3. Ewyuu4j0

    Ewyuu4j0 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Posts:
    27
    Yes, that's exactly what I meant. I realize now that by "Recovery Manager" I could have meant the TI specific Recovery Manager. But I was referring to the boot disk which can be created which contains both TI and DDS (if you have them both).

    I'm using a notebook, so the goal is for it to be on the primary hard drive. Tonight I'll see if I can figure out from your USB drive instructions how to adapt it for a primary HD.

    Thanks for your help.

    -Jeremy
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Good News! I got it on the first attempt.

    Here's what I did:

    1) Create a small primary FAT32 partition on the hard drive (I used @500MB)
    2) Restore JUST the Acronis partition from the flash drive image (created by following the instructions in my guide)
    3) Reboot to make sure OSS adds the new partition to the bootwiz.oss file
    4) Manually edit the bootwiz.oss file to add the entry to boot into the Acronis Media partition

    And that was it. I was amazed it worked that easily, but it did.

    Here are the changes to the bootwiz.oss file:
    RED is the added OS entry for the Acronis Rescue Media entry (make sure the OS ID (GREEN) is not duplicated in any other OS ID).
    Also make sure the ACRONIS MEDIA PARTITION ID (ORANGE) is changed to point to YOUR partition ID.
    Leave the "active" partition as your Normal Windows active partition (PURPLE).

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
    <bootwiz>
    	<disks>
    		<id4270860577 bios_num="128" crc="1029045" real_bios_num="128" serial="5555" size="488397167" />
    		<id374756078 bios_num="129" crc="156277446" real_bios_num="129" serial="19884" size="156301487" />
    		<id902037581 bios_num="0" crc="3996149" real_bios_num="0" removed="1" serial="46667" size="3996159" />
    	</disks>
    	<cds />
    	<partitions>
    		<id3220156886 begin="63" crc="54011" disk="4270860577" fs="ntfs" number="2" serial="803b8c08808c08bc" size="156280257" type="7" />
    		<id1440632162 begin="16128" crc="54011" disk="374756078" fs="ntfs" number="5" serial="3046f220891dfdcc" size="156280257" type="7" />
    		<id[COLOR="darkorange"][B]720960727[/B][/COLOR] begin="156280320" crc="11354" disk="4270860577" fs="fat32" number="1" serial="a37562cc" size="1028160" type="12" />
    		<id2354312764 begin="247" crc="11354" disk="902037581" fs="fat32" number="1" serial="a37562cc" size="3995913" type="11" />
    	</partitions>
    	<oses>
    		<id4194816748 boot_as_ms71="0" boot_as_os2="0" boot_cd_entry="0" boot_partition="3220156886" bootname="bootsect.sys" icon="icon_sys_win" language="english" lba="1" multi="multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\WINDOWS" name_template="%n Professional%l %l(%ll%l)" nthide="0" os_type="ntxp" uninstall_info="1" use_manual_disks_order="0" write_boot="1">
    			<partitions>
    				<id[COLOR="darkorchid"][B]3220156886[/B][/COLOR] active="1" />
    			</partitions>
    		</id4194816748>
    		[COLOR="red"][B]<id[COLOR="SeaGreen"]3468778367[/COLOR] boot_as_ms71="0" boot_as_os2="0" boot_cd_entry="0" boot_partition="[COLOR="darkorange"][B]720960727[/B][/COLOR]" icon="icon_sys_acronis_secure_zone" language="" lba="1" name_template="Acronis Rescue Media" nthide="0" os_type="linux" uninstall_info="1" use_manual_disks_order="0" write_boot="0">
    			<partitions>
    				<id[COLOR="darkorchid"][B]3220156886[/B][/COLOR] active="1" />
    			</partitions>
    		</id[COLOR="seagreen"][B]3468778367[/B][/COLOR]>[/B][/COLOR]
    		<id2591228611 boot_as_ms71="1" boot_as_os2="0" boot_cd_entry="0" icon="icon_boot_floppy" language="" lba="1" letter="65" name_template="Boot from floppy %o" nthide="0" os_type="floppy" use_manual_disks_order="0" write_boot="0">
    			<partitions>
    				<id3220156886 active="1" />
    			</partitions>
    		</id2591228611>
    	</oses>
    	<checkfiles>
    		<checkfile crc="0" name="io.sys" partition="3220156886" size="0" />
    		<checkfile crc="3899" name="ntldr" partition="3220156886" size="250032" />
    		<checkfile crc="8470" name="boot.ini" partition="3220156886" size="212" />
    	</checkfiles>
    	<bootmgr default_os="4194816748" disks_order_feature="1" />
    </bootwiz>
    
    I've also attached the bootwiz.oss file (renamed bootwiz.txt) so you can download and copy the text out easily.

    If you have any questions, post back. I'm curious if it will work as well for you.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Mudcrab:

    Not everyone will have an empty slot for another primary partition. I would be curious to see if OS Selector could boot into this if it's in a logical partition. I know from personal experience that GRUB can do it. Previous post here, but your method of restoring using ATI works also and is easier.

    I would follow your instructions but create a small logical partition of at least 50 MB. You could put this at the end of the drive if needed. Restore your Acronis image to the logical partition, marking it as logical during the restore operation. Then, boot into Disk Director and right-click on the partition and choose "Edit". Using the DD10 hex editor, choose "View as FAT32 Boot Sector" (or FAT16 as appropriate). Look for the value "Hidden Sectors" which will be set to "63". Change the number 63 to the absolute sector number of the start of the partition. You'll find this number displayed at the top of the window. Then save the sector and exit the editor. You can also make the partition hidden so that Windows won't see it and try to put a System Volume Information folder on it.

    Since I don't run OS Selector I haven't tried this. If you're up to experimenting...
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  7. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    Brian:

    You're spot-on there. I read all of Dan Goodell's articles when trying to figure this stuff out. They are a must-read for anyone who wants to set up multiple operating systems, taking a lot of the mystery out of the process.
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Mark,

    I knew this would come up. I was trying not to over complicate the procedure by throwing in too many different ways to do it.

    I'll give it a try with OSS and a logical partition and see what happens. Assuming OSS doesn't do anything weird (an assumption I'm not willing to make...), I don't see why it wouldn't work. I boot into my Linux/logical partitions just fine.
     
  9. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,481
    Location:
    California
    Okay, I've tried OSS with the Acronis rescue media partition image restored to a logical partition.

    It works correctly. As Mark has stated, just make sure to change the "Hidden Sectors" value to the "Absolute Sector Number" value.

    acronis_log_hs.jpg

    Modifications necessary to the bootwiz.oss file remain the same as in post #4.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.