Recovery disk builder offers only Full, no safe version.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by nelsonm, Feb 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Hi all,

    I'm running acronis 2009 under Vista x64.

    Did acronis do away with the safe option in ti 2009 when building a recovery disk?

    It only shows the Full option.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2009
  2. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    No they did not but it's being made available differently. If you have registered your product it should be available here after signing in. Note that this is the English version and I can't speak for other languages.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    What is this? Is this some poly from Acronis to get you to register?
     
  4. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    No, I think they were responding to criticism that the file size of their download was too large, especially for people on dialup connections. So they removed these two features from the download but made them separately available on their web site.
     
  5. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    You have to be kidding - right?!

    If Acronis is really concerned about the download size, they can reverse what appears to be their march towards TI becoming - BLOATWARE!

    The only thing i need from TI is the ability to backup, restore and schedule drive/partition/data images effectively with verification and as fast as possible - period. The rest is just fat!
     
  6. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    I don't think any of us would disagree with you on that...
     
  7. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    k0lo,
    Not to start a fight and go off on a big tangent - but - what did you buy TI for?

    BTW, I talking about Acronis True Image "Home" any version. Anyway, Acronis markets the product as:
    Although it for my SOHO business computer, That's what i bought it for. I use the older version 8 i own on my family's computer.

    Also, the only users that could even complain about downloads, are, dialup "Home" users. As a computer services company, i haven't many consumer clients these days with dialup and none with any type of backup utility installed that they'd want to download. All the other versions are geared toward small to large businesses. If they are still using dialup, they should get their heads examined! o_O
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  8. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    What problem do you see in registering the software?

    The benefits being, always able to redownload your licenced products, access to your serial numbers and of course easy access to upgrades.

    Colin
     
  9. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    bodgy,

    I have no problem with registering any software if it's required for updates, optional plugins and/or discounts.

    I just find it odd and annoying to know that i have to register to even download a piece of what used to be a whole product up until now.
     
  10. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Ah now i understand. :)
     
  11. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    I bought it to create and restore partition images - period. Ok, I do also find the ability to mount an image to be very useful. The rest of the features are not of much interest to me personally, but I'm sure they are to other people.

    You started this thread by asking what happened to the safe mode version and I answered your question. I'm not Acronis and didn't make their decision, nor am I trying to defend it; I'm just answering your question.
     
  12. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    k0lo,

    I appreciate your initial and all of your subsequent responses to my original post.

    My responses are not an attack on you personally, just a response to Acronis apparently tripping up the majority broadband users to satisfy what appears to be a minority of dialup users. I just don't feel it's necessary. Look at the statistics between broadband and dial up at the link below...

    http://www.nados.com/public/broadband-dialup.png
     
  13. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Registration is a requirement if you wish to download the future builds to version 2009. The current build is the #3 (I believe) of this 2009 version. If you do not register your software, you do not benefit from the corrections of bugs (& qualify for more bugs:) ) Registration will not qualify you for a new upgrade to version 2010 when released.

    I am not a business proprietor but I am one of those minorities that is still using dialup. Most software has reached the point where download via dialup is impossible and I am forced to find other sources for my downloads. As the ol' saying goes "Where there is a will, there is a way." :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  14. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    I feel for ya dud. Does your local library allow you to download from any of their public systems to a flash drive?

    If the economy tanks any more, i may be joining you and dusting off my old modem card.
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Please note that in order to receive free minor updates and technical support you should register the product on our web site:

    1. Choose "Product registration" at http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/products/registration/

    2. Enter your serial number for your Acronis product in the corresponding field.

    3. Your product will become registered and you will get an access to the latest build at "Product updates" (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/updates/).

    Please disable any download managers, internet download/connection boosters, etc. before the download.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  16. nelsonm

    nelsonm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Posts:
    19
    Acronis Support,

    Actually, that second link does not work for me. When i first log in i go to...

    1. https://www.acronis.com/my/index.html

    While on this page, if i click on the "GET UPDATES" button, it puts me into the "enterprise" page. wrong page. I have to click on the "Product Updates" menu button under "My Account" to get to the right Customer support "Product Updates" page below.

    2. http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/index.html

    Maybe things work differently on the internal Acronis site.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.