Recovery disc failure...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by bimbobo, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Recovery disc failure... is now total!!!!!!!!!

    Hi,
    I had a recovery disc made with Acronis TI 11 with my old XP Pc..
    I tried to use it tonight to test how it worked on my new PC.

    Nothing happened "starting Acronis loader" at reboot but after5 minutes still the same message.

    I said, OK, now I run Vista and I have a new PC, maybe aI need to make e new one.

    So I did, but nothing "starting Acronis loader" stays there forever and nothing happens.

    I'm a bit disappointed, as everybody describes TI as easy to use, but I must say, I disagree.

    After 3 attempts I have not been able to run the bootable CD..
    Any suggestions

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  2. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    ...it seems issue is not isolated one.
    Many has this problem. I have the last version trial of TI..

    Good I only wanna make a test..

    Maybe I have to use my old Ghost.. it has never failed.

    I hope someine will post a solution here.

    Regards
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    Have you tried the SafeMedia version of TI 11?
     
  4. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    ..well at no point I can push F11 to add the script shown in the guide.
    "starting Acronis loader" appears and the only way to do more is to push reset button and remove the CD from CD drive.
    It worked fine in my old PC.. now on Vista and a new PC is not working.

    What is Safe Media Version of TI11?
    Sorry I'm not an expert with Acronis.

    Regards
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    In that case, it sounds like you may need the alternate bootloader from Acronis (you'll have to contact Acronis Support for that).

    The SafeMedia version is available to download from your Acronis account. Once installed you'll be able to include it on the TI CD. It uses the computer's BIOS (instead of Linux) to access the hardware.

    However, if you're not even getting to the Acronis menu when you boot the CD, the option of having the SafeMedia version really won't matter.

    Have you tried a Flashdrive?
     
  6. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    I did not try a flash drive..
    Weird the recovery disc I had worked on XP and not in Vista.

    Let see if I can find out why, or I will try to hear from Acronis.

    Thsnka
    Regards
     
  7. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    I tried to make the bootable rescue on a USB key, changed the bios so it could boot from "removanle media" nothing happens.
    Not even the "starting Acronis loader" appeared, Vista booted normally.

    I thought the program was almost out of the box use..

    It seems you need to be more or less "expert"..

    Regards
     
  8. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    I tried the same recovery disc on my laptop also running Vista and it worked fine.

    The issue must be the desktop which is 4 weeks old and all updates, driver, firmwares are up to date
    ... you can see spec. in my signature.

    I have a Pioneer 115D DVD drive...
    The ASUS P5K SE is set to boot from the Pioneer drive, and the Starting Loader never goes away.

    Any suggestions?

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  9. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Re: Recovery disc failure... is now total!!!!!!!!

    the failure is now total....

    I used the ISO image suggested in the guide you linked me to..
    Not only this iso image did not solve the issue, but now I cannot even rebbot Vista.
    Invalid Operating System...
    So now My PC is totally dead...

    What the hell is happening?

    Changing the MBR has screwed a very functionally PC up.

    Is there any chance to restore the previous configuration..

    I had taken an "full backup" of the 2 partitins with the Vista backup feature, but the Seagate External drive is not seen... now

    I hope someone can help fixing this
    Regards
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2008
  10. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Re: Recovery disc failure... is now total!!!!!!!!

    Issue solved by Acronis Support
     
  11. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Re: Recovery disc failure... is now total!!!!!!!!

    I don't have any ISO images linked from my guide page. I assume you're referring to the "empty" Acronis flashdrive images. I don't know what you did with them, but using them on a flashdrive shouldn't have caused a problem with your Vista drive.

    Can you post what the solution was?
     
  12. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Re: Recovery disc failure... is now total!!!!!!!!

    1. Put the Windows Vista installation disc in the CD\DVD disc drive, and then (re)start the computer;
    2. Press a key when you are prompted;
    3. Select language, time, currency, keyboard or input method, and then click Next;
    Click Repair your computer;
    5. Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next;
    6. In the System Recovery Options dialog box click Command Prompt;
    7. Type the following:
    Bootrec.exe /FixMbr
    Bootrec.exe /FixBoot
     
  13. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Re: Recovery disc failure... is now total!!!!!!!!

    That would fix your Vista drive so it would boot, but it doesn't fix the problem of booting the TI CD. Have you submitted a support request for this with Acronis?

    You may want to consider creating a VistaPE CD.
     
  14. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Re: Recovery disc failure... is now total!!!!!!!!

    No, but when I chatted with them I was offered the an ISO file that could sove this. I got a Demo of 18MB with a different loader that the one obtainable by making a recovery disk
    So they offered me the full version if I could provide a serial number for TI11
    But I used the trial, so no serial number, no new Recovery disc file.

    I will wait a new version of TI, then I will try that too.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.