Recovery Boot Disk doesn't work

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by watsosd, Jun 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    I've tried making four different boot disks and none of them work. During the startup the boot disk is ignored and Windows starts instead. I know my bios is set up properly because I can boot from other disks. The most recent attempt to create and test an Acronis recovery boot disk created an error message every time Windows XP started. The error was a pop-up window titled WINDOWS - NO DISK and the error was "Exception Processing Message c00000013 Parameters 75b6bf7c 4 75b6bf7c 75b6bf7c"

    This error started after attempting to use a recovery boot disk created with Acronis True Image 10 Home. I had to do a disk image restore in order to get rid of the error message.

    Why does the recovery disk not work? The entire application is pointless if the recovery disk doesn't boot.
     
  2. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    can you provide a step by step explanation of how you are creating the Rescue Disk?

    It sounds as though the CD is not being made bootable.

    What king of CD are you using for the rescue disk?
     
  3. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    I open Acronis True Image Home 10 and click on the toolbar button titled "Create bootable rescue media to be able to restore your computer in case it becomes unbootable". Follow the instructions, burning a CDR. I've tried 3 different types of CDR and 1 CDR/W. None of them would boot the PC.

    It creates a disk with a folder titled Recovery Manager containing the following files:

    bootmenu.exe
    bootwiz.sys
    f11.cfg
    kernel.dat
    mouse.com
    ramdisk.dat
    splash.run
     
  4. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    The disk as you describe it is correct. 1 folder and files within the
    folder. What you can't see are the hidden files used to boot the CD.

    Are you sure your BIOS is set to boot from the CD/DVD drive first?
     
  5. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    I didn't even think of looking for hidden files to include in that list, sorry. I normally don't have those visible in Windows Explorer.

    I know bios is set properly because if I try to boot with my Windows recovery disk that came with the PC, it boots perfectly from the same drive that I'm using when testing the Acronis recovery disk.
     
  6. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    go into control panel, folders, view and turn off the check
    mark next to Hide Protected system files and put your rescue cd in and see if there are other files there. Then go back and put the check mark back.
     
  7. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    No hidden files on the recovery boot disk.
     
  8. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    That indicates that the rescue CD is not being made correctly.

    Is there an option to create an ISO? If so, create an ISO file. Then
    use a program like Imgburn(free) to burn that ISO to a CD.

    Try new CD.
     
  9. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    I tried the ISO, it did the same thing. I've tried 3 different brands of CDR plus another brand of CDR/W. They all do the same thing. When the PC boots, it spins the CD, decides it's not a boot disk and goes on to load from the harddrive.
     
  10. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    What are your pc specs?
     
  11. snifferpro

    snifferpro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Location:
    PA
    If your Acronis product is registered with Acronis, I would contact Tech Support and see if they will give you a link to download a bootable Rescue CD.
     
  12. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    That's what I was trying to do when I was directed here. When I go to support on their website and select Acronis True Image Home 10, it tells me my support options are "Knowledge Base" and "Support Forums". It says that I'm using and old version so I no longer get support. Without a recovery disk, there's not much point in using this application. In a worst-case scenario, it's useless.
     
  13. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    Reference post #3 above:

    You won't see any hidden files in the Recovery Manager folder. You will only see the seven files that are listed in the posting. Configuring the PC to show hidden files will not help.

    Since you're having quite a problem it wouldn't hurt to check the BIOS boot sequence anyway. Easy to do. TI-10 Rescue Media CD may be having a problem recognizing your CD drive.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2009
  14. Doug_B

    Doug_B Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    Check if the burned recovery CD can be booted from another PC or two (the disc created is not PC-specific). If so, see if you can at least temporarily install a different CD / DVD drive in the original PC to see if the particular optical drive is the issue. Also, is the optical drive in question connected via SATA or PATA? The temporary spin-up of the disk suggests to me an issue with the drive or its connectivity, as it relates to booting up the recovery CD.

    Doug
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello watsosd,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image 10.0 Home

    Please send us the serial number for Acronis True Image 10.0 Home via PM and we will provide you ISO image of Acronis bootable disc which will solve the issue.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  16. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11

    I've already checked the Bios settings and tested them using a different boot disk.
     
  17. uxb20

    uxb20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Posts:
    6
    I will watch for the solution as I have the very same problem. I have an e-machines/XP, very vanilla system. I have another backup product that boots fine from the recovery disc that I burned. I did everything that you did and I have never been able to burn a recovery disc. I tried to work with Acronis tech support but ran out of patience with what they wanted me to provide. I do not troubleshoot computers for a living! I just noticed that they will provide bootable iso files. If one works please post as they provided several to me also that made no difference.
     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello watsosd,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    As far as I know, an ISO file has been sent to you several days ago. Could you please share the results?

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  19. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    The recovery disc will boot other PCs but it won't boot my PC. Other boot discs do work on my PC. So I have no idea what the problem is.
     
  20. IS200

    IS200 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    pc repair dublin
    Is it possible you are using the same CD-RW and it may have a surface imperfection?
     
  21. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    I've tried 3 different brands of CDR and one brand of CDR/W. They all do the same thing, which is nothing. PC bypasses disc and boots from harddrive.
     
  22. fungus

    fungus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Posts:
    69
    What about building a BARTPE boot disc with the Acronis 2009 plugin on it? Try that before you give up.

    The plugin is available as an Acronis download after you register the TI-2009.

    I did this and now I can boot from the CD made with TI-2009, or the Bart CD. Both work for running TI.

    The only negative to the Bart CD is that it is more difficult to create and it boots much more slowly.
     
  23. watsosd

    watsosd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    I don't have Acronis 2009, I'm using
    Acronis True Image Home 10.0.
     
  24. Doug_B

    Doug_B Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Posts:
    120
    Location:
    Central New Jersey
    Install one of the optical drives that works on a different PC into the PC of interest. Sometimes a particular CD doesn't work right with a particular optical drive. I have a couple of examples of this myself for each of the two optical drives in my PC - Disk A doesn't work right with Drive A but works fine with Drive B, while Disk B doesn't work right with Drive B but works fine with Drive A.

    Doug
     
  25. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    You might check this link and see if there is anything there you have not tried.
    You can try the burn CD; or the create an iso; or make a flashdrive bootable. Maybe one of them will work.

    How To Create a TrueImageHome Rescue CD
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=188253
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.