Recovering deleted Truecrypt volumes (from external hdd)

Discussion in 'encryption problems' started by apricot templar, Jun 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. apricot templar

apricot templar Registered Member

Hi everyone, well I blew it and deleted my 2 truecrypt volumes off my 465gb ntfs external hdd without thinking about it(they are both 10gb in size). I am not good with computers and new to this winhex so I appreciate any help lol.

I tried getting the volume headers by opening the partition in a separate tab and then ctrl+end but I have a bunch of 00s and readable text (which I read is not good?) :(

http://i.imgur.com/nQLwtxA.png?1?8190

I found the file name of one volume so far in the master boot record(?) while looking for random chunks if that helps at all (the second volume's name was just a4), but they are surrounded by lots of 00s too http://i.imgur.com/RWmy4o4.png?1

Edit:I am using the method of copying the physical sectors from the partition to the hard disk, defining blocks from there and then copying them into a test file (hopefully that is right), but none of the sectors have been headers yet :(

Last edited: Jun 1, 2014
  2. dantz

dantz Registered Member

These are container files, right? Not encrypted partitions? In this case the instructions that I have posted elsewhere for recovering lost TrueCrypt partitions do not quite apply, although there are some similarities.

But let's start at the beginning: Did you look in the Recycle Bin?

Also, if you merely deleted the files then they might be recoverable by running an undelete program.